

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Franklin County.

- 1. Acts of 1809 (Sept. Sess.) Chapter 48, Section 13, provided that the territory east of Lincoln, south of Bedford, and north of the state line would be a part of Franklin County.
- 2. Acts of 1815, Chapter 86, stated that Alexander Perryman had been appointed as the surveyor to run and mark the line between Franklin and Warren Counties, and that he failed to do so. The act then appointed John McGowan in his place with the same responsibilities and McGowan was to receive the same rate of pay, provided he took the oath of office and started work immediately.
- 3. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 161, Section 5, changed the boundary line between Franklin and Lincoln Counties to include in Franklin County the farm of Allen Johnson.
- 4. Public Acts of 1857-58, Chapter 11, Section 13, changed the boundary line between Franklin and Grundy counties to include in Franklin County all the lands of W. G. Gwinn, Lawson Row, and Daniel C. Smith.
- 5. Private Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 100, Section 13, altered the boundary between Franklin and Lincoln Counties to include in Franklin County the land of C. H. Bean.
- 6. Public Acts of 1870-71, Chapter 18, changed the boundary line between Franklin and Coffee Counties so that a portion of Franklin County in the Flat Creek area near the then Bedford County Line was detached and placed in Coffee County. The persons affected were to pay their 1870 taxes to Franklin County.
- 7. Public Acts of 1883, Chapter 62, changed the line between Franklin and Moore Counties to include in Moore County all the farms of S. S. Reaves, J. A. Reaves, T. L. D. Parks, J. W. Anderson, J. M. Turner, and Wiley Millsaps, the land being some of the farms through which the county line ran.
- Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 104, changed the line between Frankin and Moore Counties to include in Franklin County the farms of F. M. Bean, and to include in Moore County the farms of J. C. Tipps, Jr., James Reed, John Cashion, and C. H. Bean.
- 9. Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 228, moved the farm of J. F. Laxson from Franklin County to Grundy County.
- 10. Acts of 1901, Chapter 379, transferred the farm of J. N. Smith from Franklin County into Moore County.
- 11. Acts of 1903, Chapter 374, changed the county line so that the land belonging to Mrs. Louise Bean in Franklin County was included in Moore County.
- 12. Acts of 1905, Chapter 191, changed the county line so that the farm of A. J. Womack in Franklin County was included in Moore County.
- 13. Acts of 1905, Chapter 206, changed the boundary line between Moore and Franklin Counties to include in Moore County all the lands of N. A. Majors.
- 14. Acts of 1905, Chapter 385, was a Senate Bill and it was worded the same as Acts of 1905, Chapter 206, above, which was the House Bill. Both bills passed the General Assembly and were signed by Governor Cox.
- 15. Acts of 1905, Chapter 390, was a Senate Bill and it was worded the same as Acts of 1905, Chapter 191, above, which was the House Bill. Both bills passed the General Assembly and were signed by Governor Cox.
- 16. Acts of 1909, Chapter 208, changed the line between Franklin and Moore Counties and included within the limits of Moore County the lands of Thomas Millsaps.
- 17. Private Acts of 1915, Chapter 443, changed the line between Franklin and Moore Counties and included within the limits of Moore County the land of M. A. Bean.
- 18. Private Acts of 1917, Chapter 194, changed the line between Franklin and Moore Counties and moved forty-one acres belonging to Mitchell Stewart from Franklin County into Moore County.
- 19. Private Acts of 1917, Chapter 244, moved fourteen acres in Franklin County belonging to G. E. Byron and ten acres in Franklin County belonging to the J. E. Coop estate and occupied by Lula Cleek to the Second Civil District of Moore County, and six acres belonging to M. A. Bean from the Sixth Civil District of Franklin County to the Third Civil District of Moore County.
- 20. Private Acts of 1921, Chapter 762, materially changed a portion of the lines between Franklin and Coffee Counties with a metes and bounds description of the area being transferred to Coffee.

- 21. Private Acts of 1923, Chapter 55, repealed Private Acts of 1921, Chapter 762, above, and restored the line between Frankin and Coffee Counties as it was before the act was passed, except the land belonging to the State known as the Vocational School was left in Coffee County.
- 22. Private Acts of 1927, Chapter 324, changed the line between Franklin and Grundy Counties to include in Franklin County the lands of A. J. Patterson and a portion of the lands of Frank L. Lynch.
- 23. Private Acts of 1941, Chapter 309, changed the line between Franklin and Moore Counties and moved the farm of C. M. Cates, consisting of about 124 acres, from the Fourteenth Civil District of Franklin County to the Second Civil District of Moore County.
- 24. Private Acts of 1945, Chapter 428, detached thirteen acres belonging to Charlie Smith from the Fourteenth Civil District of Franklin County and attached it to the Second Civil District of Moore County.
- 25. Private Acts of 1949, Chapter 610, transferred eighty-five acres, owned by J. C. Bedford, from the Sixth Civil District of Franklin County to the Third Civil District of Moore County.
- 26. Private Acts of 1955, Chapter 343, changed the county line between Franklin and Coffee Counties to include in Coffee County certain numbered lots of the Oak Park subdivision in Tullahoma and, to include in Franklin County the remaining lots in the subdivision. The Act was not considered at the local level and consequently it did not become law.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-53