

December 20, 2024

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Fayette County.

- 1. Acts of 1833, Chapter 46, stated that the line run and marked by John Thompson, the Commissioner appointed by the State of Tennessee, between the States of Tennessee and Mississippi, being the 35th Degree of North Latitude, was the official boundary between the two States. It was made the duty of the official Surveyors in Hardin, McNairy, Hardeman, Fayette, and Shelby Counties to recognize this line and to cause the boundaries of their counties to conform to it.
- 2. Acts of 1883, Chapter 125, changed the boundaries between Fayette County and Hardeman County beginning at the point where the south line of the land, owned by E. Chambers, crossed said line and run west 70 poles, then north 18 poles, then west 102½ poles, then north 214 poles, then east 136 poles, then north 165 poles, then east 22 poles to the said county line so as to include those lands now owned by E. Chambers, R. H. Beard, and J. W. Bass, within the limits of Hardeman County.
- 3. Private Acts of 1907, Chapter 429, moved the lands belonging to James Parsons, now included in Hardeman County, from that county into Fayette County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-50