

February 05, 2025

## Private Acts of 1955 Chapter 20

## Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu 

## Private Acts of 1955 Chapter 20

**SECTION 1**. The members of the Roane County board of education shall be elected by popular vote at the August, 1982 general election, for terms as provided herein, thereafter all terms shall be six (6) years, filled by popular vote at the regular August election. The board shall be composed of nine (9) members who shall be elected from the districts from which they reside by the registered voters of that district as follows:

District A, from which two (2) members shall be elected is composed of the following precincts: Rockwood Ward I, Rockwood Ward II, Pond Grove, Eureka and Glen Alice.

District B from which two (2) members shall be elected is composed of the following precincts: Dyllis, Emory Heights, Emory, South Harriman, Fairmond, Midtown.

District C from which one (1) member shall be elected is composed of the following precincts: Harriman Ward I, Harriman Ward II, and Walnut Hill.

District D from which one (1) member shall be elected is composed of the following precincts: Orchard View, Oliver Springs, and Oak Hills,

District E from which two (2) members shall be elected is composed of the following polling precincts: Kingston Ward I, Kingston Ward II, Lawnville, Cave Creek and Paw Paw.

District F from which one (1) member shall be elected is composed of the following precincts: Fairview, Renfro, Midway, Paint Rock and Johnson School House.

As amended by: Private Acts of 1978, Chapter 246

Private Acts of 1978, Chapter 311 Private Acts of 1982, Chapter 359

**SECTION 2.** Those persons currently serving on the Roane County board of education shall serve until their current terms expire and until their successors are elected and qualified. In August, 1982, there shall be elected one (1) member from District A for a six (6) year term, one (1) member from District B for a six (6) year term, one (1) member from District E for a two year term. After August, 1982, all members shall be elected for terms of six (6) years and shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified, with three (3) members to be elected each year after 1982.

As amended by: Private Acts of 1978, Chapter 246

Private Acts of 1978, Chapter 311 Private Acts of 1982, Chapter 359

**SECTION 3.** That this Act shall take effect from and after its passage, the public welfare requiring it.

Passed: January 31, 1955.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/private-acts-1955-chapter-20