



February 23, 2025

Dyersburg Suburban Consolidated District

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the Tennessee Code Annotated and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Dyersburg Suburban Consolidated District	.3
Private Acts of 1961 Chapter 287	.3

Dyersburg Suburban Consolidated District Private Acts of 1961 Chapter 287

SECTION 1. That there is hereby created a utility district which shall be a municipality or public corporation and shall constitute a body politic and corporate with power of perpetual succession but without power to levy or collect taxes. "Said district shall include all of the territory now contained in Finley Utility District of Dyer County, Tennessee and South Dyersburg Utility District of Dyer County, Tennessee and the district boundaries shall be described as follows:

Being in the Fourth, Twelfth, and Tenth Civil Districts of Dyer County, Tennessee, and more particularly described as follows:

Beginning at Corps of Engineers, U.S.A. Bench Mark A-58.1-36 latitude 35° 57' 18.41" (NAD), longitude 89° 23' 12.52" (NAD), proceed North 47° 45' East approximately 9,531.25 feet to the intersection of the centerline of Pond Creek and the centerline of Tennessee State Highway No. 20, then proceed downstream on the centerline of the North Fork of the Forked Deer River, then proceed downstream on the centerline of the North Fork of the Forked Deer River to a point which is 500' Northeast of the centerline of U.S. No. 51 Bypass, then proceed Northwestwardly parallel to the centerline of U.S. No. 51 Bypass to a point which is 200' North of the centerline of the Illinois Central Railroad branch line track, then proceed Westwardly and parallel to the centerline of the Illinois Central Railroad branch line to longitude 89° 25' 00" then proceed due North approximately 5,000 feet to a point, then proceed due West approximately 24,583.3' to a point which is Corps of Engineers, U.S.A. Bench Mark A-41.17-4, latitude 36° 02' 45.42" (NAD), longitude 89° 29' 58.11" (NAD), then proceed due West a distance of 677.1 feet to a point, then proceed due East approximately 22,000 feet to a point, said point being on the centerline of the North Fork of the Forked Deer River, then proceed downstream on the centerline of the North Fork of the Forked Deer River to its intersection with the centerline of the South Fork of the Forked Deer River, then proceed upstream on the centerline of the South Fork of the Forked Deer River to a point which is approximately 9,114.5 feet due West of Bench Mark A-58. 1-36, then proceed due East approximately 9,114.5 feet to Bench Mark A-58.1-36, the point of beginning.

Such district shall be known as "The Dyersburg Suburban Consolidated Utility District of Dyer County, Tennessee". It is hereby found and declared that the public convenience and necessity require the creation of such district and that the creation of such district is economically sound and desirable. As long as the district continues to furnish any of the services which it is authorized to furnish under this Act it shall be the sole public or municipal corporation empowered to furnish such services within the district.

SECTION 2. That the governing body of the district shall be a Board of

Commissioners to consist of three members. The first members of the Board shall be:

- H. A. Adams, to hold office to January 1, 1963
- S. J. Jones, to hold office to January 1, 1964
- Levi Carter, to hold office to January 1, 1965

Thereafter the term of office of each member shall be four years.

SECTION 3. That except as in this Act provided such district shall be regarded in all respects as a utility district created pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 26 of Title 6 of Tennessee Code Annotated, and such district and the Board of Commissioners thereof shall have all of the powers and shall be subject to all of the duties prescribed in such chapter.

SECTION 4. That this Act is remedial in nature and is necessary because there are presently no provisions in said Chapter 26 of Title 6 for the consolidation of utility districts and because it has been found impracticable to market separately the bonds of Finley Utility District and South Dyersburg Utility Districts.

SECTION 5. That Finley Utility District of Dyer County, Tennessee and South Dyersburg Utility District of Dyer County, Tennessee are hereby abolished. It has been ascertained that the Board of Commissioners of each of said districts has requested that said district be abolished and that the consolidated district herein described be created, and it has been further ascertained that neither of said districts has any bonds or other obligations now outstanding.

SECTION 6. That all laws or parts thereof in conflict herewith are to the extent of such conflict hereby repealed and this Act shall take effect from and upon its passage, the public welfare requiring it.

Passed: March 9, 1961.

 $\textbf{Source URL:}\ https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/dyersburg-suburban-consolidated-district$