

Highway Zones

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

| Highway Zones |
|---------------------------------|
| Private Acts of 1971 Chapter 70 |

Highway Zones Private Acts of 1971 Chapter 70

SECTION 1. There is established for Robertson County, Tennessee, six (6) separate highway zones, from which shall be elected the members of the County Highway Commission as set forth in Section 2 below. These zones shall be established by the Robertson County Commission in such manner that the six (6) zones generally contain an approximate equivalent number of county citizens. The zones may be established by combining County Commission Districts or by such other manner as determined by the County Commission, and the zones may change in their boundary from time to time for this purpose. As amended by: Private Acts of 1979, Chapter 68

Private Acts of 2002, Chapter 147

SECTION 2. Commencing September 1, 1980, the County Highway Commission shall consist of six (6) members who shall be elected by the qualified voters of Robertson County at the regular general election in August, 1980, and every four (4) years thereafter. Members of the Highway Commission shall serve a term of four (4) years and until their successors are elected and qualified. One (1) member of the Highway Commission shall be elected from each of the county highway zones heretofore designated. If a vacancy occurs in the membership of the Highway Commission, the Board of County Commissioners, at its next regular meeting shall elect a qualified person from the highway zone in which the vacancy occurred, to serve the remainder of the unexpired term, if any time remains in said term. Vacancies shall be declared by the Highway Zone from which the member was elected. The members of the Robertson County Highway Commission serving on the effective date of this act shall continue in their respective offices and shall constitute the Robertson County Highway Commission until their successors are elected pursuant to this act.

As amended by:

Private Acts of 1979, Chapter 68

SECTION 3. Section 3, Chapter 380, Private Acts of 1947, and Chapter 407, Private Acts of 1949, and all laws or parts of laws in conflict with the provisions of this act are hereby repealed.

SECTION 4. This Act shall have no effect unless it is approved by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the Quarterly County Court of Robertson County on or before the next regular meeting of said court occurring not less than thirty (30) days after its approval by the chief executive of this state. Its approval or non-approval shall be proclaimed by the presiding officer of said court and shall be certified by him to the Secretary of State.

SECTION 5. This Act shall take effect upon becoming a law, the public welfare requiring it.

Passed: April 14, 1971.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/highway-zones