

March 31, 2025

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Scott County.

- 1. Acts of 1853-54, Chapter 181, Section 9, changed the lines between Scott and Fentress counties so as to include all the possessions of Belfield Moore in Fentress.
- 2. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 156, Section 1, moved the farms of James Ball, James Walden, Jesse T. Lay and Leander Herd into Campbell County; Section 3 changed the lines between Scott, Morgan, and Fentress Counties as the survey run by Riley Long required, making his survey the permanent boundary lines; Section 4, moved all the lands of Ewel Smith into Scott County from Campbell County.
- 3. Acts of 1857-58, Chapter 36, Section One, provided that the line run by Stanfield from Ewell Smith's to William Massengill's be, and the same is, hereby established as the dividing line between the said counties of Campbell and Scott so as to include all the citizens west of the said line in Scott County, and who would enjoy all the rights and privileges as other citizens.
- 4. Acts of 1857-58, Chapter 129, Section 1, detached the farms belonging to William Young and Elisha Chaney from Scott County and placed them in Morgan County.
- 5. Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 135, Section 2, provided that the county line between Fentress and Scott County be so changed that commencing at the north of Scull Creek on the Clear Fork, it shall run thence down the river to the south fork, to the mouth of Honey Creek at the old county line. Section Three of the same act transferred the dwelling house, and the tract of land on which it stands, of A. H. Cross from Scott County into Morgan County.
- 6. Acts of 1866-67, Chapter 9, Section 3, changed the lines between Campbell and Scott Counties so as to include all the lands belonging to John Patterson, Austin L. Keath, William Cross, William Keatherly, John McGee, Henry Goodman, James McGee, William Thompson, and the farm, formerly owned by Ewel Smith, but now the property of Riley and Jacob Queener, in Campbell County.
- 7. Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 60, Section 4, moved the properties of Henry Thompson, and the lands and residence of Ewel Smith, Riley and Jacob Queener, which is now owned by John E. Hudson and Isaac Neal, from Campbell County back into Scott County. Section 5 of the same act transferred the residence and farm of Wesley Buttram from Fentress County into Scott County.
- 8. Acts of 1868-69, Chapter 43, Section 6, detached the lands belonging to Dempsey Massengale from Morgan County and attached them to Scott County.
- 9. Acts of 1870, Chapter 84, transferred the lands of William A. Cross and Levi L. Adkins from Campbell County into Scott County.
- Acts of 1873, Chapter 71, changed the lines between Campbell and Scott counties so as to include the farm of William Trammell in Scott County provided the action did not reduce Campbell County below the constitutional limits.
- 11. Private Acts of 1873, Chapter 75, transferred from Anderson County into Scott County all the farms belonging to Jordan Massingal, Huston Carroll, Greebery West, William Carroll, and Alexander Low, under the same provision as above.
- 12. Acts of 1873, Chapter 99, moved the farms and residences of John Low, Jr., and William Keathaley from Campbell County into Scott County under the same conditions.
- 13. Acts of 1879, Chapter 137, Section 10, changed the lines between Scott and Campbell so as to include all the lands of J. Q. Cross in Scott County.
- 14. Acts of 1883, Chapter 51, altered the boundaries between Scott, Anderson, and Campbell Counties so that the lands of Richmond Kennedy would be included wholly within Campbell County.
- 15. Acts of 1883, Chapter 100, moved all the lands belonging to John Lay and John Lawdermilk, as they were described in the Act from Campbell County into Scott County.
- 16. Acts of 1883, Chapter 195, detached the farm of Milton S. Cross from Campbell County and attached the same to Scott County consisting of about 200 acres on Straight Fork Creek.
- 17. Acts of 1885, Chapter 60, repealed the 6th Section of an Act passed March 14, 1868 which changed the lines between Smith, Putnam, and Dekalb Counties, and for other purposes, and the line between Scott and Morgan counties was reestablished as it was before passage of the act. This must refer to Item 8, above.

- 18. Acts of 1887, Chapter 46 transferred all the properties belonging to Bart Neal, W. C. Adkins, and Peter Adkins out of Campbell County and into Scott County.
- 19. Acts of 1889, Chapter 21, detached the farms and residences of John B. Young and Solomon Young from Morgan County and attached them to Scott County.
- 20. Acts of 1897, Chapter 257, is an exact duplicate of Acts of 1897, Chapter 217, which is published herein.
- 21. Acts of 1897, Chapter 278, moved the lands of Calvin Allen and David Lay out of Scott County and into Campbell County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-46