

December 21, 2024

Public Acts of 1969 Chapter 272

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Public Acts of 1969 Chapter 272

COMPILER'S NOTE: Although a public act, this act is included because its provisions have special effect and are not found in Tennessee Code Annotated.

SECTION 1. The justices of the peace in counties of this state having populations in excess of 200,000 according to the United States census of population of 1960 or any subsequent United States census of population shall be elected from justice of the peace districts in the several counties to which this act may be applicable in the number and as particularly described hereinafter for each county.

COMPILER'S NOTE: Sections 2-4 did not pertain to Shelby County. Therefore, they were omitted.

SECTION 5. In Shelby County there shall be eleven (11) justices of the peace, elected from eleven (11) justice of the peace districts constituted as follows, with one (1) justice of the peace to be elected from each district.

District 1 shall consist of the following voting wards in the city of Memphis: 69-1, 69-2, 71-1, 71-2, 73-1, 73-2, 74-1 and 74-2; and the following voting precincts in Shelby County: Arlington, Bartlett, Brunswick, Ellendale, Kerrville, Locke, Lucy, McConnell's, Millington, Raleigh, Scenic Hills, Stewartville, Woodstock, Capleville, Collierville, Cordova, Eads, Forest Hill, Germantown, Morning Sun, Mullins, Ross' Store, and White Station.

District 2 shall consist of the following voting wards and precincts in the city of Memphis: 1, 8, 9, 21-1, 21-2, 21-3, 21-4, 22, 27-1, 27-2, 36-2, 36-3, 39, 40-1, 40-2, 41-1, 41-2, 41-3, 42-1, 42-2, 51-1, 51-2, 70-1, 70-2, 72-1, and 72-2.

District 3 shall consist of the following voting wards and precincts in the city of Memphis: 37-1, 37-2, 38-1, 38-2, 38-3, 38-4, 43-1, 43-2, 43-3, 43-4, 44-1, 44-2, 44-3, 44-4, 44-5, 52-3, 53-1, 53-2, 54-1, 54-2, 55-1, 55-2, 62, 63-1, 63-2, 64, 68-1, and 68-2.

District 4 shall consist of the following voting wards and precincts in the city of Memphis: 45-1, 45-2, 45-3, 45-4, 46-1, 46-2, 46-3, 56-1, 56-2, 57, 58-1, 58-2, 58-3, 58-4, 58-5, 59-1, 59-2, 59-3, 65-1, 65-2, 66-1, 66-2, 67-1, 67-2, and 67-3.

District 5 shall consist of the following voting wards and precincts in the city of Memphis: 60-1, 60-2, 60-3, 60-4, and 60-5; and the following voting wards and precincts in Shelby County: Levi-1, Levi-2, Levi-3, Levi-4, Levi-5, Whitehaven-1, Whitehaven-2, Whitehaven-3, Whitehaven-5, Whitehaven-6, Whitehaven-7, Whitehaven-8, Whitehaven-9, and Whitehaven-10.

District 6 shall consist of the following voting wards and precincts in the city of Memphis: 2, 4, 5, 6, 7-1, 7-2, 11-1, 11-2, 12, 13-1, 13-2, 13-3, 14-1, 14-2, 23, 24, 25-1, 25-2, 25-3, 25-4, 26-1, 26-2, 26-3, 34-1, 34-2, 35-1, 35-2, 35-3, 48, 49-1, 49-2, 50-1, and 50-2.

District 7 shall consist of the following voting wards and precincts in the city of Memphis: 15, 16-1, 16-2, 16-3, 17-1, 17-2, 17-3, 17-4, 18, 19, 20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 28-1, 28-2, 29-1, 29-2, 29-3, 30, 31-1, 31-2, 31-3, 31-4, 32, 33-1, 33-2, 36-1, 47-1, 47-2, 47-3, 52-1, 52-2, 61-1, and 61-2.

In addition to the aforesaid districts, one (1) through seven (7), there shall be four (4) districts numbered consecutively and so designated as District Eight (8), District Nine (9), District Ten (10) and District Eleven (11), each of which districts Eight (8) through Eleven (11) shall be composed of an area coextensive with the boundary lines of Shelby County, Tennessee. Justice of the peace districts in Shelby County shall consist of the voting wards and precincts as they were delineated on July 1, 1968.

SECTION 6. The provisions of this act shall be effective for the August general election in 1972 and each election for justices of the peace thereafter until changed, except that with respect to any county to which this act may apply, if a reapportionment of the justices of the peace is ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction and a special election is ordered to be held, then the provisions of this act shall apply.

SECTION 7. If any provision of this act or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or application of the act which can be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this act are declared to be severable.

SECTION 8. This act shall take effect on becoming a law, the public welfare requiring it.

Passed: May 8, 1969.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/public-acts-1969-chapter-272