



April 02, 2025

Acts of 1779 Chapter 29

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Acts of 1779 Chapter 29

COMPILER'S NOTE: Sullivan County was created by the legislature of North Carolina while what was later to be Tennessee, was a part of North Carolina. The statute set out here is from the acts of North Carolina. The reader should note that there were other acts altering the boundaries of Sullivan County while Tennessee was part of North Carolina but which are not included in this compilation.

SECTION 1. That whereas by the great extent of the said county of Washington, and the great number of inhabitants therein, it becomes highly necessary that the said county should be divided into two distinct and separate counties, by a line beginning at the Steep Rock; thence running along the dividing ridge that divides the waters of the great Canawee and Tennessee, to the head of Indian Creek; thence along the ridge that divides the waters of Holston and Wataga, to the mouth of Wataga, thence a direct line to the highest part of the Chimney Top Mountain, at the Indian boundary; and that all that part of said county of Washington, which lies northwardly of said dividing line, shall be erected into a new and distinct county by the name of Sullivan County, and that all that other part of said county which lies southwardly of said dividing line, shall continue and remain a distict [sic] county by the name of Washington.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/acts-1779-chapter-29