

April 02, 2025

Elections - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Elections - Historical Notes

The following is a listing of acts for Hancock County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 196, apportioned the representation of the United States Congress by dividing the state into congressional districts. The first district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hawkins, Greene, Cocke, Jefferson and Sevier.
- 2. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 197, apportioned the representation of the general assembly of the state by providing for the election of representatives and senators. Hancock, Greene, Hawkins and Jefferson counties jointly elected one representative, while Hawkins and Jefferson counties composed a senatorial district.
- 3. Public Acts of 1865, Chapter 34, apportioned the representation of the United States Congress by dividing the state into congressional districts. The first district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hawkins, Greene, Cocke, Jefferson and Sevier.
- 4. Public Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, apportioned the representation of the general assembly of the state by providing for the election of representatives and senators. Hancock and Claiborne counties jointly elected one representative, while the second senatorial district was composed of Hancock, Sullivan, Hawkins, Hamblen and Claiborne counties.
- 5. Acts of 1872, Called Session, Chapter 7, apportioned the representation of the United States Congress by dividing the state into congressional districts. The first district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hawkins, Greene, Cocke, Claiborne, Union, Grainger and Hamblen counties.
- Public Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, apportioned the representation of the United States Congress by dividing the state into congressional districts. The first district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hawkins, Greene, Cocke, Claiborne, Grainger and Hamblen counties.
- 7. Public Acts of 1881, Extra Session, Chapter 6, apportioned the representation of the general assembly of the state by providing for the election of representatives and senators. Hancock County jointly elected one representative with Hamblen and Hawkins counties. The second senatorial district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Hawkins and Greene.
- 8. Public Acts of 1882, Chapter 27, apportioned the representation of the United States Congress by dividing the state into congressional districts. The first district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Hawkins, Greene, Hamblen, Claiborne, Cocke and Grainger.
- 9. Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, apportioned the representation of the United States Congress by dividing the state into congressional districts. The first district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Hawkins, Greene, Hamblen, Claiborne, Cocke and Grainger.
- 10. Acts of 1891, Extra Session, Chapter 10, apportioned the representation of the general assembly of the state by providing for the election of representatives and senators. Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi and Greene counties composed the first representative district and elected one representative jointly. Hancock County was placed in the third senatorial district along with Grainger, Claiborne, Union and Campbell counties.
- 11. Private Acts of 1897, Chapter 216, detached Hancock County from the third senatorial district and placed it in the second senatorial district.
- 12. Private Acts of 1897, Chapter 239, detached Hancock County from the second senatorial district and placed it in the third senatorial district.
- 13. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, apportioned the representation of the United States Congress by dividing the state into congressional districts. The first district was composed of the counties of Hancock, Sullivan, Johnson, Carter, Unicoi, Washington, Greene, Hawkins, Claiborne, Grainger, Cocke and Sevier.
- 14. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, apportioned the representation of the general assembly of the state by providing for the election of representatives and senators. Hancock and Grainger counties composed the fifth representative district and jointly elected one representative. The third senatorial district was composed of Hancock, Grainger, Claiborne, Union, Campbell and Scott

counties.

15. Private Acts of 1945, Chapter 262, created five new civil districts for Hancock County, to be numbered thirteenth civil district through the seventeenth civil district. This act was repealed by Private Acts of 1947, Chapter 613.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-32