

## **Boundaries - Historical Notes**

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu 

## **Boundaries - Historical Notes**

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Dyer County.

- 1. Acts of 1837-38, Chapter 256, appointed Abel H. Pope, of Lauderdale County, to run and mark the dividing line between Haywood and Lauderdale Counties so as to reduce Haywood County to its constitutional limits of 625 square miles, and, further, to run and mark the line between Dyer and Lauderdale Counties. The County Court of Lauderdale County would pay the surveyor for his services.
- 2. Acts of 1849-50, Chapter 83, changed the boundary line between Gibson County and Dyer County so as to include in Gibson County the territory lying between the North Fork and the Little North Fork of the Forked Deer River to the end that the line would run with the Forks of the said River to their junction.
- 3. Acts of 1865-66, Chapter 19, concerned the creation of Crockett County which was formed by taking fragments from Haywood, Madison, Gibson, and Dyer counties.
- 4. Acts of 1870-71, Chapter 26, stated that the Act which established Crockett County would not infringe upon the constitutional size of Madison, Gibson, and Dyer Counties, but this Section would not be construed to invalidate any past Act or Acts of the commissioners of the said Counties.
- 5. Acts of 1883, Chapter 97, rearranged the boundary lines between the counties of Lake and Dyer so as to include within Lake County all the area within two miles south of the present line.
- 6. Acts of 1887, Chapter 194, changed the lines between Dyer County and Crockett County where the line crosses the lands of J. A. Sudberry and John Hall, near Chestnut Bluff, so as to include all of the home tract of Sudberry in Dyer County and to include all the land of Hall in Crockett County. All the laws defining the boundary between the counties of Crockett and Dyer were amended to that effect.
- 7. Acts of 1889, Chapter 32, transferred all the properties belonging to John Barham out of Gibson County and into Dyer County.
- 8. Acts of 1889, Chapter 108, moved the residences and lands belonging to J. W. Bell, Mrs. Churchman, and R. K. Harwell, out of Crockett County and into Dyer County.
- 9. Acts of 1893, Chapter 22, changed the lines between Crockett County and Dyer County so as to include all the lands of J. W. Clark's heirs in Dyer County, detaching the same from Crockett County and causing the new line to run from the southwest corner of Ben Bell's tract of land in the Crockett County line south between A. E. Taylor and H. Stallings on the east, and J. W. Clark's heirs, on the west, to the southwest corner of the said Clark's heir's land, thence west with the south boundary of J. W. Clark's heirs to their southwest corner, thence north with the said Clark's heir's line to the Crockett County line.
- 10. Private Acts of 1931 (2nd Ex. Sess.), Chapter 67, realigned the boundaries between Dyer County and Gibson County where the said line crosses the Newbern and Neboville public road after it leaves the Huey lands where it now runs due south across the A. L. McCorkle and Mrs. Allie Spence land, so as to cause the line to run, when it touches A. L. McCorkle's north line, directly west to McCorkle's north west corner; thence due south with the McCorkle and Spence west line to Spence's southwest corner; and then go east to where the said county line now crosses the Spence's south line and thence south, as it now runs, which places the McCorkle farm and the Spence farm entirely within Gibson County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-28