

Chapter 1807 Chapter 28

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Chapter 1807 Chapter 28

SECTION 1. That the county of White shall be divided into two distinct counties, as follows, to wit: Beginning on the Caney Fork, where Smith county line crosses the same; running up the channel of said river to the mouth of Rocky river; thence along the top of the dividing ridge between the Caney Fork and Rocky river, to the top of Cumberland mountain; thence along the extreme height of the mountain, eastwardly, until it strikes the wilderness road; then with said road, to the Jackson county line, including Daniel Alexander's dwelling house, in White county; then with the line of Jackson and Smith counties to the beginning. And all that part of White county, lying within the described bounds, be and remain the county of White; and that the courts in the said county of White, shall hereafter commence on the second Mondays of February, May, August and November, and shall be held at the house where Caleb Friley now lives, until otherwise provided for by law.

SECTION 2. That there be a new county laid off, by the following boundary, to wit: Beginning on Cumberland mountain, where the line of White county strikes the same; thence westwardly, with said mountain to the Indian boundary line; then along said line to the most eastwardly branch of Duck river; thence north, to the east boundary of Rutherford county; thence with the lines of Rutherford, Wilson, Smith and White, to the beginning. Which last mentioned bounds shall compose a new county, by the name of Warren. Passed: November 26, 1807.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/chapter-1807-chapter-28