

December 20, 2024

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Cumberland County.

- 1. Acts of 1837-38, Chapter 8, established the County of Cumberland out of parts of Davidson, Robertson, Montgomery and Dickson Counties. Provision was made for an election in January, 1938 for the voters in this area to decide if they wished to form a new county. Cumberland County was not formed and this territory later became part of Cheatham County.
- 2. Acts of 1837-38, Chapter 124, required that the dividing lines between the counties of Davidson, Robertson, Montgomery, Dickson, and Cumberland be surveyed and marked. A referendum election was to held to approve the establishment of Cumberland County.
- 3. Acts of 1843-44, Chapter 69, established Cumberland County out of parts of Davidson, Robertson, Montgomery and Dickson Counties. An election was to be held in January, 1844 to approve the establishment of the new county. This Act was repealed by Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 122.
- 4. Acts of 1857-58, Chapter 83, Section 4, changed the boundary lines between Cumberland and Bledsoe Counties so as to include those lands belonging to Mark Stephens and William Moss in Bledsoe County.
- 5. Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 211, Section 1, detached all of the lands belonging to the estate of Thomas J. Gillespie from Cumberland County and attached them to Rhea County.
- 6. Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 211, Section 5, moved the land of Thomas C. Welch from White County into Cumberland County.
- 7. Acts of 1871, Chapter 104, altered the lines between Cumberland County and Putnam County so as to place all the farm of John H. Officer into Putnam County.
- 8. Acts of 1879, Chapter 137, Section 2, changed the line between Cumberland and Bledsoe Counties so as to include all the properties of Mark Stephen, E. F. Patton, J. M. Thorm, and the Stephen's heirs in Bledsoe County. Section 8, of the same act, moved the farm of William Powell from Cumberland County into Roane County.
- 9. Acts of 1883, Chapter 45, transferred the land of John Parks from Cumberland into White County.
- 10. Acts of 1883, Chapter 58, amended Acts of 1879, Chapter 137, to change the spelling of Thorm to Thurman, so that the land of J. N. Thurman went into Bledsoe County.
- 11. Acts of 1883, Chapter 109, moved the tract of land known as the Alred and Gore grant, and two tracts belonging to James Bartlett from Cumberland County into the Fourteenth Civil District of Putnam County.
- 12. Acts of 1889, Chapter 115, changed the lines between Cumberland and Morgan Counties so that the lands of Solomon Norris, Thomas Norris, and Daniel Hall were included in Morgan County, to begin at a point on Big Clear Creek at or near the mouth of Elizabeth Hall's spring branch and thence running up Big Clear Creek to the Fentress County line.
- 13. Acts of 1897, Chapter 149, moved the land of E. T. Patton from Cumberland to Bledsoe County which land was bounded on the north, south, and west by Stephens, and on the east by Brown.
- 14. Acts of 1899, Chapter 226, transferred that portion of the land belonging to H. Little which lie in Cumberland County to the remainder of his lands which were located in the 13th Civil District of White County.
- 15. Acts of 1899, Chapter 366, changed the lines between Cumberland and White Counties so that the portion of lands belonging to H. C. Snodgrass, lying in Cumberland County would be included in White County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-16