

March 31, 2025

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Crockett County.

- 1. Public Acts of 1870-71, Chapter 26, amended Public Acts of 1869-70 (Extra Session), Chapter 89, and authorized the Commissioners, named in the 1869-70 Act, or their successors, to change, alter, or modify the boundary lines which were fixed in said act, so as not to infringe upon the constitutional limits of Madison, Gibson, or Dyer counties. The Act specifically stated that it should not be construed to invalidate any past acts of the Commissioners.
- 2. Public Acts of 1879, Chapter 137, changed the boundary lines between Crockett and Gibson counties so as to include all the lands of James Lewis, Thermon Jones' heirs, William Bell, Needham Moore, W. G. Jones, J. W. Porter, O. B. Clark, R. J. Williams, and D. H. Jones in Crockett County.
- 3. Public Acts of 1881, Chapter 108, changed the boundary lines between Gibson and Crockett counties so as to include the lands of R. J. Williams lying south of Middle Forked Deer river in Crockett County.
- 4. Public Acts of 1883, Chapter 121, changed the boundary lines between Gibson and Crockett counties so as to include all the lands of James Lewis in Crockett County.
- 5. Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 128, changed the boundary lines between Gibson and Crockett counties so as to include all the lands of L. H. Harris in Crockett County and the lands belonging to W. S. Moore and E. D. Harris in Gibson County.
- 6. Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 194, changed the boundary lines between Crockett and Dyer counties beginning at the point where the county line crossed the lands of J. A. Sudberry and John Hall, near Chestnut Bluff, so as to include all of the home tract of J. A. Sudberry in Dyer County and all the adjoining tract of land belonging to John Hall in Crockett County.
- 7. Public Acts of 1889, Chapter 50, changed the boundary lines between Gibson and Crockett counties so as to include the lands of J. H. Blakemoore lying on the west side of the Forked Deer River in Gibson County.
- 8. Public Acts of 1889, Chapter 108, changed the boundary lines between Crockett and Dyer counties so as to include all the lands of J. W. Bell, Mrs. Churchman, and R. K. Harwell in Dyer County.
- 9. Private Acts of 1911, Chapter 97, changed the boundary lines between Crockett and Madison counties so as to include all the lands of Robert B. Griggs in Crockett County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-15