

December 22, 2024

Elections - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Elections - Historical Notes

Civil Districts

The acts listed below have affected the civil districts in Clay County, but are no longer operative regarding elections. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Private Acts of 1903, Chapter 569, reduced the number of civil districts in Clay County from twelve to four, which were composed of whole former civil districts. The County Court was authorized to set up the voting precincts in the various civil districts as created herein.
- 2. Private Acts of 1943, Chapter 283, abolished the existing four Civil Districts of Clay County and created eight in their place, which were described by incorporating civil districts into the descriptions and by metes and bounds. Section 3 of this act names the two Justices of the Peace and the Constable for each District who would serve until the next regular county election in August, 1944. C. J. Mabry was named as the chairman of the county court and his salary as such set at \$100 per month. He would serve until the next regular meeting of the county court when the justices of the court would elect their own chairman. This act was expressly repealed by Chapter 238, Private Acts of 1947.
- 3. Private Acts of 1947, Chapter 238, specifically repeals Chapter 283, Private Acts of 1943, Item 2, above, which redistricted Clay County.
- Private Acts of 1947, Chapter 329, abolished the then existing eight civil districts in Clay County and regrouped them into four new districts. This act was repealed by the Private Acts of 1961, Chapter 43.

Elections

The following is a listing of acts for Clay County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes.

- Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, apportioned Tennessee according to the 1870 federal census. Clay, Jackson, and Macon Counties would elect one representative between them and the 25th Senatorial District was composed of Macon, Smith, Clay, Trousdale, Sumner, and Jackson Counties.
- 2. Acts of 1872 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 7, placed Clay in the Second of eight, U.S. Congressional Districts with Sevier, Knox, Jefferson, Anderson, Campbell, Scott, Morgan, Fentress, Cumberland, White, Putnam, Overton, Jackson, Smith, and Macon Counties.
- 3. Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, divided the State into ten U.S. Congressional Districts. Clay was assigned to the Fourth with Fentress, Overton, Putnam, Jackson, Macon, Smith, Trousdale, Wilson, Sumner, and Robertson.
- Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 6, reapportioned Tennessee according to the 1880 Federal Census. Macon and Clay Counties would share a Representative to the General Assembly. Jackson, Macon, Clay, Overton, Pickett, and Fentress Counties composed the 11th Senatorial District.
- 5. Acts of 1882 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 27, delineated ten U.S. Congressional Districts in the State. The counties remained the same except DeKalb County was added to the Fourth U.S. Congressional District.
- 6. Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, separated the U.S. Congressional Districts according to the 1890 Federal Census. The Counties were changed by adding Pickett, Rhea, and Cumberland Counties and by taking Robertson and DeKalb out of the Fourth.
- 7. Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, provided that Clay, Overton, Fentress, and Pickett Counties would share a Representative to the General Assembly as the 8th District, and that Scott, Fentress, Pickett, Overton, Clay, Jackson, and Putnam Counties would constitute the Tenth State Senatorial District.
- 8. Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, designated Sumner, Trousdale, Wilson, Putnam, Jackson, Overton, Smith, Macon, Pickett, Fentress, Morgan, Cumberland, and Rhea Counties as the Fourth U.S. Congressional District.
- 9. Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, put Clay County in the 10th Senatorial District with Morgan, Fentress, Pickett, Overton, Putnam and Jackson Counties. Fentress, Pickett, Overton, and Clay Counties would elect one Representative jointly for the General Assembly.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-12