

## **Boundaries - Historical Notes**

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu 

## **Boundaries - Historical Notes**

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Clay County.

- 1. Acts of 1881, Chapter 131, changed the boundary between Clay and Overton Counties so as to include all the lands of Thomas and William Martin in Clay County.
- 2. Acts of 1883, Chapter 122, Section 1, transferred all the lands of F. M. Taylor, and the lands of the Taylor heirs as they were described therein comprising thirty acres, more or less, from Clay County into Pickett County.
- 3. Acts of 1885, Chapter 125 moved the land known as the old W. C. Heard farm, recently purchased by W. H. Hawkins and lying on Ashburn Creek into Clay County; also transferred into Clay County from Pickett County were the lands of W. W. Heard, W. H. Wilburn, B. C. Wilburn, and S. R. Heard.
- 4. Acts of 1885, Chapter 128, changed the lines between Overton and Clay Counties so as to include the 15 acres belonging to T. B. Davis in Clay County.
- 5. Acts of 1887, Chapter 52, detached the lands of P. H. Wilburn from Pickett County and attached them to Clay County.
- 6. Acts of 1887, Chapter 102, transferred the lands of B. K. Biggerstaff, known as Brimstone Island, from Jackson County to Clay County.
- 7. Acts of 1889, Chapter 62, changed the lines between Overton and Clay Counties so as to move all the lands of Thomas Marlin and J. K. P. Davis into Clay County.
- 8. Acts of 1891, Chapter 233, transferred the properties of John Conner, James Conner, and O. C. Waddle from Clay County into Overton County.
- 9. Acts of 1893, Chapter 57, changed the lines between Clay and Pickett Counties with a metes and bounds description which would include in Pickett County all the lands belonging to Clay County lying between the Obed and the Wolf Rivers. This law was repealed by Chapter 270, Acts of 1901.
- 10. Acts of 1901, Chapter 214, moved the Robert Fletcher farm from Overton County into Clay County.
- 11. Acts of 1901, Chapter 282, detached the farm belonging to Sam H. Hance from Clay County and attached it to Macon County.
- 12. Acts of 1901, Chapter 482, moved the Gabriel A. Marcon property from Clay County into Overton County.
- 13. Acts of 1903, Chapter 226, moved all the properties of Jerry Age (sic) and Malangthon Kirby from Clay County into Macon County.
- 14. Acts of 1905, Chapter 258, altered the boundary between Clay and Overton Counties so as to include the land of James Glidewell lying near Oakly, Tennessee, in Overton County.
- 15. Acts of 1905, Chapter 266, moved the lands of Smith Mulens which were located near Head, Tennessee, from Clay County into Pickett County.
- 16. Acts of 1905, Chapter 337, transferred the combined properties of A. J. Poston, Bill Smith, J. P. Maxwell, J. B. Ayers, Elijah Carwile, and part of the farm belonging to Mrs. Fisk Kirkpatrick from Clay County into the Third Civil District of Overton County.
- 17. Acts of 1909, Chapter 167 transferred the lands of Eusebius Rich from Clay County into Jackson County.
- 18. Acts of 1909, Chapter 306, was identical with Chapter 167, Acts of 1909, Item 17 above.
- 19. Acts of 1909, Chapter 538, changed the boundary lines between Clay and Overton Counties so as to include the property of Dr. Cullom Sidwell, known as the Buck Farm, in Clay. This Act was repealed by Chapter 430, Private Acts of 1931.
- 20. Private Acts of 1911, Chapter 530, detached the combined properties of C. B. Jenkins, Elizabeth Crabtree, William Kemp, R. W. Allen, and G. S. McCain from Clay County and attached them to Jackson County.
- 21. Private Acts of 1911, Chapter 575, moved the farm of Joseph Griggiths from Clay into Jackson County.
- 22. Private Acts of 1933, Chapter 221, moved the farm of W. H. Maynard out of the jurisdiction of

Clay County and into the area of Overton County.

- 23. Private Acts of 1939, Chapter 244, changed the lines between Clay and Overton Counties so as to include the property of Dillard Maynard in Overton County.
- 24. Private Acts of 1939, Chapter 561, took the land of Chatt Chilton from Overton County and placed them in Clay County as they were bounded on the north by G. L. Maynard and Eddie Brown, on the east by the Fletcher heirs, on the south by the B. Stinson heirs, and on the west by Farley Robbins, Gertrude Riley, and Edd Chilton, containing 150 acres, more or less.
- 25. Private Acts of 1943, Chapter 449, changed the boundary between Clay and Jackson Counties so as to move the land belonging to Frank Rogers, from the Second Civil District of Clay County into Jackson County, said land being known as the Moore and Brown farm and consisting of 100 acres, more or less.

**Source URL:** https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-12