

December 20, 2024

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Claiborne County.

- Acts of 1801, Chapter 45, Section 14, appointed William Hogshead as commissioner by Claiborne County to run the line between Anderson and Claiborne counties from the Clinch River to the Indian boundary line. Mr. Hogshead was paid two dollars for each day of work to be paid by the treasurer of Anderson County.
- 2. Acts of 1811, Chapter 116, established the true line between James Devers property in Powell Valley to the Clinch River in Claiborne County.
- 3. Private Acts of 1835-36, Chapter 61, authorized that all grants issued by the State of Virginia, for lands in that tract of country situated between Henderson's and Walker's lines in Claiborne, Hawkins and Sullivan counties shall be received as evidence in any of the courts of Tennessee.
- 4. Acts of 1845-46, Chapter 31, altered the county line between Claiborne and Hawkins counties, so as to place the farms of Robert Campbell and William Seals in Hawkins County.
- 5. Acts of 1845-46, Chapter 137, authorized the survey of the dividing line between Claiborne and Campbell counties. Both counties appointed a commissioner and a surveyor for the purpose of marking the dividing line.
- 6. Acts of 1847-48, Chapter 66, altered the boundary line between Campbell and Claiborne counties, to place the farm of James Cooper in Campbell County.
- 7. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 166, Section 2, changed the line between the counties of Claiborne and Union so as to include Drury Laffoon in Claiborne County.
- 8. Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 60, changed the boundary line between Claiborne and Union counties to as to include the farm and dwelling of Silas Williams in Union County.
- 9. Public Acts of 1870, Chapter 41, altered the boundary line between the counties of Campbell and Claiborne to include the farms of Peter Childress and F. P. McNew in Campbell County.
- 10. Public Acts of 1871, Chapter 10, altered the boundary line between Campbell and Claiborne counties, so as to place the farms of George Cooper and J. B. Little in Campbell County.
- 11. Public Acts of 1873, Chapter 77, attempted to create the county of Webster out of portions of Campbell, Union and Claiborne counties, however, the act never took effect.
- 12. Public Acts of 1879, Chapter 111, altered the boundary line between Claiborne and Union counties, so as to place the farm of Benjamin Pike in Claiborne County.
- 13. Public Acts of 1879, Chapter 137, altered the boundary line between Union and Claiborne counties so as to place the farms of Issac Holloway, John D. Parker, and Jacob Leach in Claiborne County.
- 14. Public Acts of 1883, Chapter 40, altered the boundary lines between Claiborne and Union counties so as to place the farms of Andrew Pary, Richard Pary, Mary McBee, Jasper Woods, John Houston, William Shoffner, Henry Kick, and William Brown in Claiborne County.
- 15. Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 45, altered the boundary line between Union and Claiborne counties, to place the farm of Benjamin Pike in Claiborne County.
- 16. Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 227, altered the boundary line between Union and Claiborne counties, to place the farms of Harvey Williamson, Berry Ellison, and Joseph Smith in the county of Union.
- 17. Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 53, altered the boundary line between Union and Claiborne counties, to place the farms of Andrew Pary, Richard Pary, Mary McBee, Jasper Wood, John Houston, William Shoffner, Henry Kick, and William Buson in Union County.
- 18. Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 255, altered the boundary line between Union and Claiborne counties, to place all the land of Alvin Bryans in Union County, and all the land of Franky Collins in Claiborne County.
- 19. Public Acts of 1895, Chapter 7, altered the line between Claiborne and Union counties, to place the farms of John Woods, Lida Broguns, William Bullad, Isaac and Hiram Shoffner in Union County, and the farms of R. P. Rucker and T. N. Cheatham in Claiborne County.
- 20. Public Acts of 1895, Chapter 195, altered the line between Hancock and Claiborne counties, so as to include the farms of John Clark, John Epperson, and William Farmer in Claiborne County.
- 21. Public Acts of 1895, Chapter 215, altered the boundary line between Claiborne and Union counties, so as to place the farms of J. J. Woods, W. J. Woods, and S. C. Woods in Union County,

- and the farm of Margaret E. and W. A. Cheatham, and John Rollins in Claiborne County.
- 22. Public Acts of 1899, Chapter 132, altered the boundary line between Claiborne and Hancock counties, so as to place the farm of John K. Punkey and Martha Moles in Hancock County, and all the land of William Myers in Claiborne County.
- 23. Acts of 1905, Chapter 68, altered the boundary line between Union and Claiborne counties, to include all the land of J. M. Whited within Union County.
- 24. Acts of 1909, Chapter 257, altered the boundary line between Campbell and Claiborne counties, to place all the lands of W. M. Ellison in Campbell County.
- 25. Acts of 1909, Chapter 394, altered the boundary line between Union and Claiborne counties, to place all the farm of F. M. Williams in Union County.
- 26. Private Acts of 1917, Chapter 36, altered the boundary line between Hancock and Claiborne counties, so as to include the farms of John Green, William Earls, and Matilda Myers in Hancock County. This act was subsequently repealed by Private Acts of 1949, Chapter 891.
- 27. Private Acts of 1919, Chapter 393, altered the boundary line between Claiborne and Union counties, so as to include within Claiborne County, the entire farm of William Russel and to include within Union County, the entire farm of G. S. Stiener.
- 28. Private Acts of 1923, Chapter 378, altered the boundary line between Campbell and Claiborne counties, so as to place the farm of Marshall Ellison within Claiborne County.
- 29. Private Acts of 1937, Chapter 175, altered the boundary line between Claiborne and Union counties, so as to place the farm of Mrs. J. M. Kick in Union County.
- 30. Private Acts of 1945, Chapter 319, altered the boundary line between Campbell and Claiborne counties, so as to include the M. J. Monday farm in Campbell County.
- 31. Private Acts of 1947, Chapter 441, altered the boundary line between Claiborne and Union counties, so as to place the lands of E. B. Shelby in Union County.
- 32. Private Acts of 1951, Chapter 52, altered the boundary line between Claiborne and Union counties, so as to place 14 acres owned by William A. Brogan, 50 acres owned by the Tennessee Valley Authority, and 24.4 acres owned by James A. Harness into Union County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-11