

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Boundaries

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Carroll County.

- 1. Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 20, changed the line between Benton and Carroll Counties to attach lands southwest of Big Sandy River to Carroll County (this portion was later repealed), and changed the line between Carroll and Henry Counties to place the lands and residences of Marion Wood and N. Swift in Carroll County.
- Public Acts of 1868-69, Chapter 39, repealed the portion of Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 20, which had changed the line between Benton and Carroll Counties, and authorized the formation of Grant County out of portions of Carroll, Gibson, Henderson and Madison Counties.
- 3. Public Acts of 1869-70 (2nd Sess.), Chapter 3, provided for the establishment of Etheridge County out of portions of Henderson, Gibson, Carroll, Madison and Weakley Counties, subject to the outcome of an election those areas on whether the new county should be formed. This act was amended by Public Acts of 1869-70 (2nd Sess.), Chapter 117, to authorize the Commissioners appointed under that act to make changes in the boundary line of the new county adjacent to Henderson and Madison Counties, by either extending or contracting the boundary as they determined to be in the best interests of the people. This act was further amended by Public Acts of 1870-71, Chapter 93, to authorize boundary changes and to condition any boundary changes, and the formation of the county itself, upon the approval of 2/3 of the voters.
- 4. Public Acts of 1877, Chapter 14, established a new county to be known as Hanes County out of parts of Henderson, Benton, Carroll and Decatur Counties, conditioned upon the approval by the people in the area affected.
- 5. Public Acts of 1883, Chapter 55, changed the line between the counties of Benton and Carroll to place the house and lands of J. T. Dudley in Benton County.
- 6. Public Acts of 1883, Chapter 56, transferred all the lands belonging to W. T. Vaden and W. A. Thompson out of Henderson County and into Carroll County.
- 7. Acts of 1905, Chapter 20, changed the line between the counties of Benton and Carroll to detach from Benton County and attach to Carroll County the land upon which was situated the residence and outbuildings of S. C. Walker.
- 1. Private Acts of 1951, Chapter 605, changed the county line between Carroll and Benton Counties to take from the 14th Civil District of Carroll County and place in the 2nd Civil District of Benton County the lands belonging to the W. T. Miller heirs and Brinkley.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-7