

March 31, 2025

Elections - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Elections - Historical Notes

The following is a listing of acts for Johnson County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes.

- 1. Public Acts of 1835-36, Chapter 2, Section 7, provided that the sheriff or coroner of Carter County hold the first election for Johnson County for justices of the peace and constables.
- 2. Acts of 1842 (2nd Sess.), Chapter 1, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan and Washington composed the first senatorial district. Johnson and Carter counties jointly elected one representative, the polls of which were compared at Fish Springs in Carter County. Acts of 1843-44, Chapter 150, amended this act so as to provide that the polls be compared at Elizabethton in Carter County, instead of in Fish Springs, on the first Monday after the election of a representative. This act was repealed by Public Acts of 1978, Chapter 597.
- 3. Acts of 1842 (2nd Sess.), Chapter 7, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hawkins, Greene and Cocke were placed in the first congressional district.
- 4. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 196, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan and Washington composed the first senatorial district. Johnson and Carter counties jointly elected one representative, the polls of which were compared at Elizabethton.
- 5. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 197, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. Johnson, Carter, Washington and Carter counties composed one senatorial district. The counties of Johnson and Carter jointly elected one representative the polls of which were compared at Elizabethton.
- Public Acts of 1865, Chapter 34, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hancock, Hawkins, Grainger, Greene, Sevier, Jefferson and Cocke were placed in the first congressional district.
- 7. Public Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Washington and Greene composed the first senatorial district. Johnson and Carter counties jointly elected one representative.
- 8. Acts of 1872 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 7, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hancock, Hawkins, Grainger, Union, Hamblen, Greene and Cocke were placed in the first congressional district.
- Public Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Greene, Hawkins, Hancock, Claiborne, Grainger, Hamblen and Cocke were placed in the first congressional district.
- 10. Public Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 6, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Washington, Sullivan and Unicoi composed the first senatorial district. Johnson and Carter counties jointly elected one representative. Johnson County also jointly elected another representative with the following counties: Carter, Washington, Unicoi, Greene and Sullivan.
- 11. Public Acts of 1882 (2nd Ex. Sess.), Chapter 27, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Hawkins, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Claiborne, Cocke and Grainger were placed in the first congressional district.
- 12. Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Hawkins, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Claiborne, Cocke and Grainger were placed in the first congressional district.

- 13. Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Washington, Greene and Unicoi composed the first senatorial district. Johnson, Sullivan and Washington counties jointly elected one representative.
- 14. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Hawkins, Greene, Sevier, Hancock, Claiborne, Cocke and Grainger were placed in the first congressional district.
- 15. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Johnson, Carter, Washington, Greene and Unicoi composed the first senatorial district. Johnson and Carter Counties jointly elected one representative.
- 16. Private Acts of 1951, Chapter 235, set the pay of Johnson County Election Officials at \$5.00 per day. This was amended by Private Acts of 1963, Chapter 187, which increased their salary to \$7.00 per day.
- 17. Private Acts of 1955, Chapter 152, attempted to repeal the redistricting act found in Private Acts of 1949, Chapter 789, but it was not ratified on the local level.
- 18. Private Acts of 1963, Chapter 185, set the time for opening and closing the primary and general election polls in Johnson County from 9:00 A.M. to 6:00 P.M.
- 19. Private Acts of 1976, Chapter 284, was the legal authority for the quarterly county court of Johnson County to call by a resolution of the court for an advisory referendum of the people to take place at the May 25, 1976 presidential preference primary on the question of sale of beer and alcoholic beverages of less than 5%. This act was rejected by the quarterly county court of Johnson County and never took effect.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-86