

December 20, 2024

Elections - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Elections - Historical Notes

The following is a listing of acts for Lake County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes.

- 1. Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, apportioned Tennessee to conform to the Federal Census of 1870. Lake, Henry, Weakley, and Obion Counties composed the 20th State Senatorial District out of 25, and also provided that Obion, Lake, Shelby, and Fayette would jointly elect one Representative to the General Assembly.
- 2. Acts of 1872 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 7, divided Tennessee into nine U. S. Congressional Districts. Madison, Crockett, Haywood, Lauderdale, Dyer, Gibson, Weakley, Obion, and Lake made up the 8th U. S. Congressional District.
- 3. Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, created ten U. S. Congressional Districts and placed Weakley, Obion, Lake, Dyer, Gibson, Crockett, Haywood, Tipton, and Lauderdale in the Ninth.
- 4. Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 6, apportioned Tennessee under a new census into 33 Senatorial Districts placing Lake County in the 28th Senatorial District with Obion and Dyer, and also provided that Obion, Lake, and Dyer would elect one Representative between them to the General Assembly.
- 5. Acts of 1882 (2nd Ex. Sess.), Chapter 27, divided Tennessee into ten U. S. Congressional Districts retaining Lake in the Ninth with the same counties except Tipton which was taken out.
- 6. Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, used the 1890 Census for reapportioning Tennessee. There was no change in the Ninth U. S. Congressional District, the counties remaining unchanged and very little change anywhere else in the State.
- 7. Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, divided the State for representation in the General Assembly into the same number of Senatorial Districts putting Obion, Lake, and Weakley in the 28th Senatorial District and permitting Lake, Obion, and Dyer Counties to elect one Representative jointly.
- 8. Acts of 1901, Chapter 109,, delineated the ten U. S. Congressional Districts with Gibson, Weakley, Obion, Lake, Dyer, Lauderdale, Haywood, and Crockett making up the Ninth.
- 9. Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, did the same for the state Assembly. Lake, Obion, and Weakley were the 28th Senatorial District, and Obion, Lake and Dyer would elect one Representative between them.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-84