

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Lauderdale County.

- Private Acts of 1835-36, Chapter 42, granted an additional 60 days to the commissioners appointed to locate and lay off the county seat of Lauderdale County. If it were not convenient for John R. Howard to make the required survey, then William B. Jones of Gibson County was authorized to do so for the same compensation. Taxes collected from residents of those parts of Tipton and Dyer Counties which became a part of Lauderdale County were be paid to Lauderdale County, and Lauderdale County was to receive its proportionate share of the school fund, internal improvement fund, and other public funds.
- 2. Acts of 1837-38, Chapter 256, appointed Abel H. Pope of Lauderdale County to run and mark the boundary line between Lauderdale and Haywood Counties to reduce Haywood County to its constitutional limit of 625 square miles, and run and mark the line between Lauderdale and Dyer Counties, all in accordance with Private Acts of 1835-36, Chapter 28 (reproduced hereinabove).
- 3. Public Acts of 1869-70, Chapter 30, changed the boundaries between Lauderdale and Haywood Counties to include all the lands of Lewis S. Maclin and Champ C. Connor in Lauderdale County, provided that Haywood County would not be reduced below the constitutional limits.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-84