

December 21, 2024

## Acts of 1843-44 Chapter 38

## Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu 

## Acts of 1843-44 Chapter 38

**SECTION 1.** That a new county be, and the same is hereby established, to be composed of fractions taken from the counties of Maury, Lawrence, Wayne and Hickman, and to be known and designated by the name of Lewis County, in honor of Captain Merrewither Lewis, who has rendered distinguished services to his country, and whose remains lie buried and neglected within its limits, and shall be bounded as follows:

**SECTION 2**. Beginning on the South bank of Duck river, at a point twelve miles on a straight line West from Columbia, and running in a South direction, leaving Columbia twelve miles to the East, to the Turnpike leading from Mount Pleasant to Tennessee River, thence with said turnpike road to the Wayne County line, running thence in a Northerly direction, leaving Waynesboro to the West twelve miles, thence in a North-East direction through Hickman County, leaving Centreville twelve miles to the West to Duck River, thence up said river to the beginning.

**SECTION 3.** That John Aiken and Albert G. Cooper of the county of Maury, Shadrick Morris and James Voss of the county of Lawrence, James Gullett and David Voorhies of the county of Wayne, Hugh B. Venable and John Clayton of the county of Hickman, shall be, and they are hereby appointed commissioners, with authority to employ a competent surveyor to run out and designate the boundaries of said county, and also to employ a competent surveyor to ascertain by actual survey of the several counties, from which the county of Lewis is to be composed, and if upon such survey there shall be territory and population sufficient to meet the requirements of the constitution, without infringing upon the constitutional territory or population of either of the counties, from which said county of Lewis is to be composed, then said county of Lewis is hereby established upon the following conditions:

**COMPILER'S NOTE:** The remainder of this Act affected only Lewis County and is omitted.

December 21, 1843

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/acts-1843-44-chapter-38