

Elections - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Elections - Historical Notes

Districts - Reapportionment

The acts listed below have affected the civil districts in Haywood County, but are no longer operative regarding elections.

1. Private Acts of 1929, Chapter 447, changed the line between the 6th and 7th Civil District so as to project the line between the farms of O. D. Jarrett and W. D. Poston, which is a part of the dividing line between the said Districts, southward until the same coincides with the front of or west of the George Chamberlain Farm.

Elections

The following is a listing of acts for Haywood County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes.

- 1. Acts of 1826 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 3, divided Tennessee into 20 Senatorial Districts and 40 Representative Districts. Henderson, Madison and Haywood Counties would elect one Representative jointly and one Senatorial District consisted of Haywood, Madison, Tipton, Hardeman, Fayette and Shelby Counties.
- Acts of 1832 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 4, created thirteen U.S. Congressional Districts in Tennessee. The 12th was made up of Haywood, Madison, Dyer, Obion, Gibson, Weakley, Henry and Carroll Counties.
- 3. Acts of 1833, Chapter 71, apportioned the State for the General Assembly. The 19th Senatorial District consisted of Madison, Haywood, Gibson and Dyer Counties, and Haywood, Tipton and Dyer Counties would elect one Representative jointly.
- 4. Acts of 1842 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 1, separated the State into Senatorial and Representative Districts. Haywood County would elect one Representative alone and be in the 23rd Senatorial District with Madison, Tipton and Lauderdale Counties.
- 5. Acts of 1842 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 7, divided Tennessee into eleven U.S. Congressional Districts. McNairy, Hardeman, Fayette, Shelby, Tipton, Lauderdale, Dyer and Haywood Counties were in the 10th U.S. Congressional District.
- 6. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 196, apportioned the State into ten U.S. Congressional Districts. The Tenth was made up of Madison, Haywood, Hardeman, Fayette and Shelby Counties.
- Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 197, reapportioned the State. Haywood County would elect one Representative to the General Assembly alone and composed one Senatorial District with Madison, Tipton and Lauderdale Counties.
- 8. Acts of 1865, Chapter 34, delineated Tennessee into eight U.S. Congressional Districts. McNairy, Hardeman, Fayette, Shelby, Tipton, Madison and Haywood Counties were in the 8th District.
- 9. Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, provided in reapportioning the State that Haywood County would elect one State Representative alone, and share another with Madison and Hardeman Counties. There were 25 Senatorial Districts of which Dyer, Lauderdale and Haywood made up the 22nd District.
- 10. Acts of 1872, Chapter 7, redistricted Tennessee into 9 U.S. Congressional Districts of which Crockett, Haywood, Lauderdale, Dyer, Gibson, Weakley, Obion and Lake Counties were the 8th District.
- 11. Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, realigned the State into ten U.S. Congressional Districts. The 9th was composed of Weakley, Obion, Lake, Dyer, Gibson, Crockett, Haywood, Tipton and Lauderdale Counties.
- 12. Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 6, reapportioned the General Assembly of the State. Haywood County would elect one Representative alone and share a floater with Tipton County. There were 33 Senatorial Districts with Haywood, Lauderdale and Crockett Counties making up the 30th.
- 13. Acts of 1882 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 27, redistricted the State into ten U.S. Congressional Districts. Haywood remained in the 9th U.S. Congressional District with the same counties except Tipton County which was taken out of the 9th U. S. District.
- 14. Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, reorganized the General Assembly, Haywood was entitled to one Representative alone and would share another with Lauderdale, Tipton, Shelby, Fayette and Hardeman Counties. The 30th State Senatorial District was made up of Haywood, Dyer and Lauderdale Counties.

- 15. Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, delineated the State into ten U.S. Congressional Districts. Gibson, Weakley, Obion, Lake, Dyer, Lauderdale, Haywood and Crockett Counties were in the 9th Congressional District.
- 16. Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, placed Haywood and Fayette Counties in the 31st State Senatorial District. Haywood County was assigned one Representative alone and would share a floater with Hardeman and Chester Counties.
- 17. Private Acts of 1941, Chapter 181, stated that in Haywood County, using Federal Census figures of 1940, no person could vote in any general, special or called election unless such person shall have registered as a qualified voter of the said county prior to the said election. Registration of voters shall conform to the requirements of the state law and shall be fully applicable to all voters in the county. Registration shall occur every four years.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-80