

November 23, 2024

Private Acts of 1822 Chapter 99

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Private Acts of 1822 Chapter 99

SECTION 1. That the town heretofore laid off for the seat of justice in the county of Madison, by the name of Alexandria, shall be known and distinguished by the name of Jackson, and that Stokely D. Hays, William E. Butler, Herndon Harrolson, Vincent Harrolson, William Stoddard, Daniel Horton, William Arnold and Adam Huntsman are hereby appointed commissioners for the town of Jackson, in addition to the commissioners appointed by the county court of Madison, under the authority of an act passed by the General Assembly on the 16th November, 1821, for the purpose of establishing the permanent seat of justice in Madison and other counties, and that the said last mentioned commissioners shall have and possess equal powers in all respects with the commissioners appointed by said county court of Madison.

August 17, 1822.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/private-acts-1822-chapter-99