

## **Elections - Historical Notes**

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu 

## **Elections - Historical Notes**

The following is a listing of acts for Marion County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Public Acts of 1832, Chapter 4, divided Tennessee into districts for the election of Representatives to Congress. Marion County was placed in the Fourth Congressional District.
- 2. Public Acts of 1832, Chapter 9, prescribed the methods of choosing Electors to vote for President and Vice President of the United States. The act divided the state into fifteen districts; Marion County was placed in the Fifth District along with M'Minn, Rhea, Bledsoe and Hamilton Counties.
- 3. Public Acts of 1833, Chapter 71, divided the state into Representative and Senatorial Districts. The counties of Roane, Rhea, Marion, Hamilton and Bledsoe composed one election district, and elected one senator.
- 4. Public Acts of 1835-36, Chapter 39, prescribed the mode of choosing Electors to vote for President and Vice President of the United States. Marion County, along with M'Minn, Rhea, Bledsoe and Hamilton Counties composed the Fifth District.
- 5. Acts of 1842 (2nd Sess.), Chapter 1, apportioned the Representation in the General Assembly of Tennessee. Marion County, along with Hamilton, Bledsoe, Rhea and Meigs Counties, composed one Senatorial District and elected one Senator.
- 6. Acts of 1842 (2nd Sess.), Chapter 7, divided Tennessee into districts for the election of Representatives to Congress. Marion County, along with Knox, Roane, Bledsoe, Rhea, Meigs, McMinn, Polk, Bradley and Hamilton Counties were placed in the Third Congressional District.
- 7. Public Acts of 1889, Chapter 196, amended the general law to detach Marion County from the Third Congressional District and place it in the Fifth.
- 8. Public Acts of 1899, Chapter 414, redistricted Marion County, reducing the number of civil districts from sixteen to four. This was amended by the Public Acts of 190l, Chapter 380, to allow the County Court to increase the number of civil districts, at their discretion. Public Acts of 190l, Chapter 474, repealed these Acts, restoring the sixteen original districts.
- 9. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, placed Marion County in the Eleventh Senatorial District and the Thirteenth Representative District. Acts of 1907, Chapter 178, amended this Act to give Marion County a representative in the General Assembly and abolished the joint district between Marion and Franklin Counties.
- 10. Acts of 1905, Chapter 237, was another redistricting act for Marion County. It abolished the lst, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 6th, 8th, 9th, 11th, and 14th Civil Districts, and attached their territory to the remaining civil districts, creating seven in all. This was amended two years later, by Chapter 479, Acts of 1907, to create the Eighth Civil District. Private Acts of 1913, Chapter 89, also amended the original act, by creating the 9th, 10th, and 11th Civil Districts.
- 11. Acts of 1907, Chapter 148, changed the boundary between the 5th and 7th Civil Districts of Marion County.
- 12. Private Acts of 1911, Chapter 262, provided that no registration of voters would be necessary in Marion County.
- 13. Private Acts of 1915, Chapter 445, was an act setting general election regulations for Marion County. It provided that elections were to be held in the same manner as elections held in other counties, towns, municipalities, and districts where the registration and "Dortch" laws did not apply.
- 14. Private Acts of 1923, Chapter 182, was a redistricting act, which abolished the eleven existing civil districts and created five.
- 15. Private Acts of 1925, Chapter 695, authorized an election for the purpose of ascertaining the will of the voters with reference to a stock law.
- 16. Private Acts of 1929, Chapter 499, created the 6th and 7th Civil Districts, authorized elections within sixty days to fill new district offices.
- 17. Private Acts of 1929, Chapter 803, created the 8th Civil District, with its officials to be elected within sixty days.
- 18. Private Acts of 1931, Chapter 21, created the 9th Civil District and provided for an election within sixty days.

- 19. Private Acts of 1935, Chapter 519, created the 4th and 5th Civil Districts of Marion County.
- 20. Private Acts of 1953, Chapter 512, set the salary of Justices of the Peace at \$6.00 for each day's attendance in the Quarterly County Court.
- 21. Private Acts of 1957, Chapter 407, set the salary of Justices of the Peace at \$15.00 per day, but this Act was repealed by Chapter 343, Private Acts of 1967-68.
- 22. Private Acts of 1961, Chapter 285, which was an amendatory Act to Chapter 198, Private Acts of 1933, changed the boundaries of the 2nd Civil District of Marion County.
- 23. Private Acts of 1967-68, Chapter 343, set the salary of Justices of the Peace at \$25.00 per day for each day's attendance upon court.
- 24. Public Acts of 1978, Chapter 597, repealed Chapter 1 of the Acts of 1842 (2nd Sess.), being the law apportioning Representatives and Senators to the State General Assembly

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-73