

December 21, 2024

Private Acts of 1905 Chapter 264

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Private Acts of 1905 Chapter 264

SECTION 1. That the County of Marshall in this State shall hereafter consist and be composed of five Civil Districts instead of Eighteen Civil Districts.

SECTION 2. That said five Civil Districts are established, and constituted, and embraced in the territory or portions of said county, described as follows:

Civil District No. 1 shall embrace, comprise, and include the territory in Civil Districts Nos. 8, 9, and 10 as now established and existing; Civil District No. 2 shall embrace, comprise, and include the territory in Civil Districts Nos. 6, 7, 16, and 11 as now established, and existing; Civil District No. 3 shall embrace, comprise, and include the territory in Civil Districts Nos. 5, 12, and 15, as now established, and existing; Civil District No. 4 shall embrace, comprise, and include the territory in Civil Districts Nos. 13, 14, and 17, as now established and existing; Civil Districts Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, and 18, as now established and existing; Provided, however, that all election precincts now established and existing in said county, shall continue and shall be legal election precincts in and for the several Civil Districts of said county as herein and hereby established in which such precincts may be located until changed by lawful authority; Provided further, there may be more than one registration place in each district for the registration of voters, and such additional place or places to be designated by the County Court of said county; and Provided further, that all the several school districts and road districts in said county shall remain as now existing, until changed by lawful authority; and Provided further, that hereafter, in the election of School Directors, there shall be three Directors elected for each school district as now existing, or as may be hereafter created.

SECTION 3. That all laws or parts of law in conflict with this Act be, and are hereby repealed.

SECTION 4. That this Act take effect from and after July 5, 1906; Provided, that the present Justices of the Peace shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified.

Passed: April 6, 1905.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/private-acts-1905-chapter-264