

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Marshall County.

- 1. Acts of 1837-8, Chapter 272, established the dividing line between Marshall and Bedford Counties. The line ran from Cotner's line due north to the Williamson county line, to Bigham's line and then south to the Lincoln county line.
- 2. Acts of 1845-46, Chapter 31, changed the lines between Marshall and Maury Counties beginning at a point running south from Duck River, fifty feet north of William D. Baldridge's dwelling house, running thence west 50 feet; thence south 120 feet; thence east to the present line so as to include the entire dwelling house of the said Baldridge and to attach the same to Marshall County.
- 3. Acts of 1853-54, Chapter 181, changed the lines between Maury and Marshall counties so as to move the dwelling house of James W. Baird into Marshall County and declared him to be a citizen of that county.
- 4. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 161, in Section One moved the farm of James Old from Maury County into Marshall County; in Section 3, transferred the residence and plantation of James M. Reynolds and George W. Wiles into Maury County; and in Section Four moved George Whitson's farm from Maury into Marshall County.
- 5. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 173, rearranged the lines between Bedford County and Marshall County so as to include the entire farm of E. G. Hamilton in Bedford County.
- 6. Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 100, detached the residence and farm of M. H. Hughes from Marshall County and placed it into Williamson County.
- 7. Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 210, transferred the residence and out houses belonging to Nathan Landen from Maury County into Marshall County.
- 8. Acts of 1866-67, Chapter 9, moved the property of Thomas W. Brents from Bedford County into Marshall County. This act was repealed by Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 20.
- 9. Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 20, repealed Acts of 1866-67, Chapter 9, concerning Bedford County, and in Section 3 moved the farm of William Buchanan from Lincoln County into the 4th Civil District of Marshall County.
- 10. Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 60, changed the lines between Marshall and Rutherford Counties so as to include all the properties of Thomas Burnett, Sarah Johnson, W. A. McCord, and John Haily in Rutherford County.
- 11. Acts of 1870-71, Chapter 121, transferred the lands of John B. Wilkes and John Coffey to Maury County from Marshall County directing that taxes for 1871 be paid to Maury County.
- 12. Acts of 1875, Chapter 120, provided that the line between Marshall and Maury Counties be changed to run with the Franklin and Lewisburg Turnpike Road from Hardison's old storehouse to the south bank of the Duck River.
- 13. Acts of 1877, Chapter 165, changed the boundaries between Marshall and Williamson Counties so as to include in the 22nd Civil District of Williamson County the dwelling and outhouses of W. O. Smithson and N. J. Wood and the tracts of land upon they are located, and the 50 acres of land belonging to G. R. Rucker, which would be cut off thereby, is transferred to Marshall County.
- Acts of 1879, Chapter 21, detached the lands of James Perry, Mr. Pollis, and D. W. Kincaid from Marshall County and attached them to Giles County. See <u>Wilson v. State</u>, 143 Tenn. 68, 224 SW 172 (1920).
- 15. Acts of 1879, Chapter 57, amended an 1870 act to throw all the lands of W. T. Marsh, or which are connected to that tract into Marshall County instead of Giles County.
- 16. Acts of 1883, Chapter 124, changed the boundaries between Rutherford and Marshall Counties so as to include fractions of the farms of S. B. Holt and J. A. Joice (sic) which now lie in the 8th Civil District of Rutherford County in Marshall County.
- 17. Acts of 1887, Chapter 48, altered lines between Marshall, Maury, and Williamson Counties so as to include portions of the farms of J. S. Flemming, W. P. Flemming, and S. C. Smithson lying in Maury and Marshall Counties in Williamson County.
- 18. Acts of 1889, Chapter 112, transferred the farm of Racine England from Marshall into Bedford County.
- 19. Acts of 1889, Chapter 129, moved about 25 acres belonging to George A. Reed and located in the

9th Civil District of Marshall County into Williamson County.

- 20. Acts of 1895, Chapter 216, has a rather meager description of the involved lands in Section 2 of the Act but actually moved the farms and homes of Mike Crawell, W. A. Crawell, Jasper W. Dickens, W. H. Moon, J. W. Hopkins, and J. P. Crawell into Bedford County from Marshall County.
- 21. Acts of 1899, Chapter 421, transferred the entire farms belonging to Erwin Purdom, S. R. Purdom, and Mariah Hardison from Maury County into Marshall County.
- 22. Acts of 1901, Chapter 307, changed the line between Marshall and Rutherford Counties so that the whole of the farms of W. F. Ogilvie and E. S. Hughes were included in Rutherford County.
- 23. Acts of 1901, Chapter 308, detached all the land belonging to T. M. Burgess, N. M. Smith, M. L. Burgess, W. N. Poarch, T. L. Poarch, James Gosnell, Mrs. S. J. Harris, and Mrs. Emma Moore from Giles County and attached them to Marshall County.
- 24. Acts of 1905, Chapter 28, moved the farms of J. S. Cainer and J. B. Smithson from Giles County into Marshall County.
- 25. Acts of 1905, Chapter 67, moved the land of T. M. Liles from Lincoln County into Marshall County.
- 26. Private Acts of 1907, Chapter 101, provided that the land now owned by Howard Fox and located in the 17th Civil District of Giles County be included in the 4th Civil District of Marshall County.
- 27. Private Acts of 1907, Chapter 490, moved the lands of J. E. Hopkins and Mrs. Sallie Brown, now in the 11th Civil District of Bedford County, into Marshall County and the lands of Sandy Moon and Elgin Cooper, located in the First Civil District of Marshall County were moved into Bedford County.
- 28. Private Acts of 1909, Chapter 101, directs that the present line between the counties of Giles and Marshall be changed so that the land now owned by Howard Fox who is in the seventeenth district of Giles County be included in the fourth civil district of Marshall county.
- 29. Private Acts of 1915, Chapter 384, was declared unconstitutional by the Tennessee Supreme Court in the case of <u>Giles County v. Marshall County</u> (1915), 133 Tenn. 415, 181 SW 308, because the Marshall County line in some places was less than eleven miles from the county seat of Giles County and the defect could not be cured by pushing the line back at those points.
- 30. Private Acts of 1925, Chapter 640, moved a certain tract of land belonging to G. W. Stallings situated in the Fourth Civil District of Marshall County, containing ten acres, more or less, into Giles County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-73