

April 02, 2025

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Maury County.

- Acts of 1837-38, Chapter 211, Section 3, changed the boundary line between the counties of Maury and Hickman to include in Hickman County the following described property: "beginning at the ford at Gordon's ferry, where the Natchez road crosses Duck river, on the south bank of said river, running thence up said river with its meanders to the mouth of Fall branch; thence up said branch with its main channel to where the same strikes the Natchez road, thence northerly with said road to the beginning." All residents therein were given the same rights and privileges as all other citizens of Hickman County.
- 2. Acts of 1845-46, Chapter 31, changed the boundary line between Maury and Marshall Counties to include in Marshall County the property of William D. Baldridge.
- 3. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 367, authorized the commissioners appointed to run and mark the prescribed boundary line for Lewis County to hire competent surveyors to insure that the Lewis County line was placed no closer to the county seat of Maury County than twelve miles, leaving Maury County her constitutional area of territory.
- 4. Acts of 1853-54, Chapter 92, altered the line between Maury and Hickman Counties to include in Hickman County the farm and residence of Phillip Hoover.
- 5. Acts of 1853-54, Chapter 181, Section 7, altered the line between Maury County and Marshall County to transfer the dwelling house of James W. Baird into Marshall County and declared James W. Baird to be a resident of Marshall County.
- 6. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 161, altered the boundary line between the Counties of Maury and Marshall to place in Marshall County the lands of James Old and George Whitson, and to place in Maury County the lands of James M. Reynolds and George W. Willis.
- 7. Private Acts of 1857-58, Chapter 129, transferred the land of Phillip Hoover from Maury County to Hickman County.
- 8. Private Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 210, transferred the lands belonging to A. S. Strong, William Scott, and A. J. Pugh, from Lewis County into Maury County and transferred Nathan Landen's residence and out houses from Maury County into Marshall County.
- 9. Private Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 20, transferred the lands of C. J. Dugger from Giles County to Maury County.
- 10. Public Acts of 1868-69, Chapter 31, repealed the act which created Lewis County and returned the land composing Lewis County to the Counties of Maury, Hickman, Lawrence, Wayne, and Perry.
- 11. Public Acts of 1869-70, Chapter 30, repealed Public Acts of 1868-69, Chapter 31, above, and re-established Lewis County.
- 12. Public Acts of 1870-71, Chapter 121, altered the boundary line between Maury and Marshall Counties to include in Maury County the lands of John B. Wilkes and John Coffey and directed that their property taxes for the year 1871 be paid to Maury County.
- 13. Public Acts of 1875, Chapter 120, provided that the boundary line between Maury and Marshall Counties would be changed to run with the Franklin and Lewisburg turnpike road from Hardinson's old storehouse to the south bank of Duck River.
- 14. Public Acts of 1881, Chapter 107, changed the boundary line between Maury County and Williamson County to include in Maury County the lands of M. C. Campbell and Campbell Brown.
- 15. Public Acts of 1883, Chapter 59, transferred the lands of R. C. Gordon, as described in the act, from Hickman County to Maury County.
- 16. Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 42, transferred the lands of George W. Hellums from Williamson County to Maury County.
- 17. Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 48, changed the boundary line between the Counties of Maury, Marshall, and Williamson by including in Williamson County the lands of J. S. Flemming, W. P. Flemming, and S. C. Smithson.
- 18. Public Acts of 1893, Chapter 7, moved a tract of land known as the Barr tract and owned by John Hildreth from Lewis County into Maury County.
- 19. Public Acts of 1893, Chapter 27, changed the lines between Maury and Williamson Counties to include in Williamson County the lands of Mrs. J. H. Wallace and J. T. Waddy in Williamson

County.

- 20. Private Acts of 1897, Chapter 259, transferred the lands of Mrs. J. H. Wallace and G. W. Ware into Williamson County from Maury County.
- 21. Public Acts of 1899, Chapter 421, transferred the farms of Erwin Purdom, S. R. Purdom, and Mariah Hardison from Maury County to Marshall County.
- 22. Acts of 1903, Chapter 320, removed the farms of E. W. Fareman from Lawrence County to Maury County. This Act was specifically repealed by Acts of 1907, Chapter 484, Page 1639.
- 23. Acts of 1905, Chapter 205, transferred all the lands of J. A. Trimble and G. C. Hawkins from the Second Civil District of Williamson County into the Second Civil District of Maury County.
- 24. Acts of 1907, Chapter 484, repealed Acts of 1903, Chapter 320, above, which had transferred the land of E. C. Fareman from Lawrence County into Maury County.
- 25. Private Acts of 1911, Chapter 109, detached the land of T. M. Fox from the First Civil District of Maury County and attached it to the Second Civil District of Williamson County.
- 26. Private Acts of 1923, Chapter 452, changed the boundary line between Maury County and Williamson County to transfer the land of Mrs. Mary Ann Hawkins, widow of G. C. Hawkins, into the Second Civil District of Williamson County from the Second Civil District of Maury County.
- 27. Private Acts of 1923, Chapter 453, transferred the lands of D. H. Griggs from the Twenty-Fifth Civil District of Maury County to the Second Civil District of Williamson County.
- 28. Private Acts of 1929, Chapter 342, transferred the farm of Mora B. Fariss, containing 76.14 acres more or less, into the Tenth Civil District of Maury County from the Fifth Civil District of Lewis County.
- 29. Private Acts of 1935, Chapter 691, changed the boundaries between Maury and Williamson Counties to transfer the lands of G. C. Stanley and H. A. Stanley from the Second Civil District of Maury County to the Fourth Civil District of Williamson County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-70