

March 31, 2025

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for McMinn County.

- 1. Acts of 1823, Chapter 236, provided that the commissioners of Athens would receive such compensation as the court of pleas and quarter sessions might award them, for their services in laying out the county's seat of justice.
- 2. Acts of 1853, Chapter 106, changed the boundary line between Monroe and McMinn to include all of Jessee Cunningham's farm in Monroe.
- 3. Acts of 1879, Chapter 137, changed the line between Loudon and McMinn to include the farm of F. Smith in Loudon County.
- 4. Acts of 1885, Chapter 54, changed the line between Loudon and McMinn to include all the lands of Sarah Etheridge in Loudon County.
- Acts of 1887, Chapter 196, changed the line between Monroe and McMinn to include the lands of Samuel Richee, Hannah James, James Land, Samuel Land, and Andrew Morgan in Monroe County.
- 6. Acts of 1887, Chapter 202, changed the line between Meigs and McMinn to include the farm of Carrol and Nelsey Stanton in McMinn County.
- 7. Acts of 1889, Chapter 58, changed the line between McMinn, Monroe, and Loudon to transfer the land of S. R. Murray into Monroe County.
- 8. Acts of 1889, Chapter 65, changed the line between McMinn and Polk to place the lands of N. S. Price in Polk County.
- 9. Acts of 1897, Chapter 168, changed the line between Loudon and McMinn to place J. L. Green's land in Loudon County.
- 10. Acts of 1905, Chapter 178, changed the line between McMinn and Polk to include the lands of John M. Dunn within Polk County.
- 11. Private Acts of 1915, Chapter 435, changed the line between Monroe and McMinn to include the lands of O. A. Tooney in Monroe County.
- 12. Private Acts of 1921, Chapter 305, changed the line between Monroe and McMinn to include the lands of H. D. Joines in Monroe County.
- 13. Private Acts of 1925, Chapter 503, changed the line between Monroe and McMinn to include the lands of E. Ragan and L. O. Hicks in McMinn County.
- 14. Private Acts of 1937, Chapter 305, changed the line between McMinn and Polk to include the lands belonging to Charles Melton within McMinn County.
- 15. Private Acts of 1951, Chapter 340, changed the line between McMinn and Monroe to include the lands of Henry Wyatt and G. H. Hyde in McMinn County

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-68