

March 20, 2025

Elections - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Elections - Historical Notes

Districts - Reapportionment

The acts listed below have affected the civil districts in McNairy County, but are no longer operative regarding elections.

- 1. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 122, Section 24, created a new Civil District in McNairy County by inserting a metes and bounds description of the involved area, which was near the old 12th Civil District, and the election precinct for the new district would be at James Malone's home.
- 2. Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 127, Section 63, provided that the voters in the First Civil District of McNairy County would have two places for voting in all elections, one, at Mary P. Kirk's house as is now established and the other at John Nalls in the fork of the Tuscumbia and Hatchie Rivers provided that the polls shall be composed at Mary P. Kirk's home as was done heretofore.

Elections

The following is a listing of acts for McNairy County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes.

- Acts of 1826, Chapter 3, apportioned Tennessee for the General Assembly showing that Hickman, Lawrence, Wayne, Hardin and McNairy Counties constituted one State Senatorial District and McNairy, Hardeman, Fayette, Tipton and Shelby Counties would elect one Representative between them
- 2. Acts of 1832 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 4, divided Tennessee into 13 U.S. Congressional Districts. Perry, Henderson, McNairy, Hardeman, Fayette, Shelby and Tipton Counties were in the 13th District.
- 3. Acts of 1833, Chapter 71, apportioned Tennessee into 20 Senatorial Districts of which Hickman, Lawrence, Wayne, Hardin and McNairy Counties composed one. McNairy and Hardeman would elect one Representative between them, all this according to the popular enumeration of 1833.
- 4. Acts of 1842 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 1, apportioned the State for the General Assembly into 25 Senatorial Districts of which Henderson, Perry and McNairy Counties composed the 24th. McNairy would elect one Representative to the Legislature alone.
- 5. Acts of 1842 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 7, divided the State into eleven U.S. Congressional Districts. Hardeman, Fayette, Shelby, Tipton, Haywood, Lauderdale, Dyer and McNairy Counties composed the Eleventh.
- 6. Acts of 1865, Chapter 34, divided Tennessee into 8 United States Congressional Districts. The 8th was made up of McNairy, Hardeman, Fayette, Shelby, Tipton, Madison and Haywood Counties.
- 7. Acts of 1866-67, Chapter 45, Section 2, provided for an additional voting box to be established in the 7th Civil District of McNairy County at Bethel Springs on the Mobile and Ohio R.R.
- 8. Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, reapportioned the State for the General Assembly into 25 Senatorial Districts. Hardin, Decatur, Benton, Henderson and McNairy Counties were in the 18th District. McNairy would elect one Representative alone.
- 9. Acts of 1872 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 7, placed McNairy, Montgomery, Houston, Stewart, Humphreys, Benton, Henry, Carroll, Henderson, Decatur, Perry and Hardin Counties in the 7th U.S. Congressional District.
- 10. Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, divided Tennessee into ten U.S. Congressional Districts. McNairy was allocated to the 8th District along with Henry, Benton, Carroll, Perry, Decatur, Hardin, Henderson and Madison Counties.
- 11. Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 5, fixed the number of Senators in the General Assembly of the State of Tennessee at 33 and the total of Representatives at 99, according to the enumeration of people held in 1881.
- 12. Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 6, permitted McNairy County to elect one Representative to the General Assembly and placed the county in the 24th Senatorial District with Hardeman County.
- 13. Acts of 1882 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 27, delineated the State into ten U.S. Congressional Districts, allotting McNairy to the 8th District with Henry, Benton, Perry, Decatur, Hardin, Henderson, Madison and Carroll Counties.
- 14. Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, apportioned Tennessee according to the 1890 census count. McNairy County would elect one Representative alone, and join Chester and Hardeman Counties in the 27th Senatorial District.

- 15. Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, divided the State into ten U.S. Congressional Districts. McNairy, Henry, Benton, Perry, Carroll, Decatur, Henderson, Chester, Madison and Hardin Counties all composed the 8th U.S. Congressional District.
- 16. Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, apportioned the State. McNairy County would elect one Representative to the General Assembly's House and share the 26th Senatorial District with Hardeman, Hardin, Decatur and Benton Counties.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-65