

March 20, 2025

## Private Acts of 1939 Chapter 281

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu 

## Private Acts of 1939 Chapter 281

**SECTION 1**. That civil district 8, 16, 11 and 7 of McNairy County, Tennessee, be and the same are hereby consolidated and from and after the effective date of this Act shall be known as Civil District No. 1 thereof. Pony Gibson and W. G. Walker, who were duly elected magistrates for the civil districts included in Civil District No. 1 as herein designated, are hereby designated as magistrates for said Civil District No. 1 and

\_\_\_\_\_, duly elected constable for one of the civil districts included in Civil District No. 1, is hereby designated constable.

Civil Districts 17, 19, 3 and 2 as now constituted, are hereby consolidated into one which shall be known as Civil District No. 2 of said county. W.R. Nickles and Wilbur Robertson, who were duly elected from part of the territory now comprised of Civil District No. 2 as herein designated, are designated as magistrates for said Civil Districts and \_\_\_\_\_\_, duly elected constable for a part of the territory now embraced in said Civil District No. 2 shall be designated constable.

Civil Districts 12 and 15 as now constituted are hereby consolidated and shall comprise Civil District No. 3 of said county from and after the effective date of this Act. R. E. Wade and C. C. Lipford, duly elected magistrates from one of the civil districts consolidated to make Civil District No. 3 as herein provided, are hereby designated as magistrates for said Civil District 3; and \_\_\_\_\_\_,

duly elected constable for one of the civil districts merged to make Civil District No. 3 is hereby designated as constable of said district. Civil Districts 9, 13 and 10 as now constituted shall comprise Civil District No. 4 of said county. Leo Atkins and Ed Wagoner, duly elected magistrates from civil districts merged to constitute Civil District No. 4 are hereby designated as magistrates and \_\_\_\_\_\_,

duly elected constable, is hereby designated as constable. Civil Districts 4, 5 and 6 as now constituted, shall comprise Civil District No. 5 of said county from and after the effective date of this Act. Roy Huggins, Thomas Jones and C. L. McCullar, all duly elected magistrates from one of the civil districts merged to constitute Civil District No. 5 are hereby designated as magistrates from said Civil District No. 5, it being the civil district containing the county town; and \_\_\_\_\_\_, duly elected constable for one of the civil districts merged to make Civil District No. 5, is hereby designated as constable.

Civil Districts 1, 18 and 14 as now constituted are hereby merged and shall constitute from and after the effective date of this Act, Civil District No. 6 of said county. R. L. Wilmeth and W. G. Minton, both duly elected magistrates from part of the territory included in Civil District No. 6 as herein constituted, are hereby designated as magistrates for said Civil District No. 6 and \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, duly elected constable from one of the civil districts included in said Civil District No. 6 as herein constituted, as designated as constable therefor. **SECTION 2.** That from and after the effective date of this Act, the office of justice of the peace in each of the incorporated towns contained in McNairy County be and the same is hereby abolished and for naught held.

**SECTION 3**. That this Act shall take effect from and after its passage, the public welfare requiring it.

Passed: February 21, 1939.

**<u>COMPILER'S NOTE</u>**: See <u>Swaim v. Smith</u> and <u>McNairy County v. Smith</u>, 174 Tenn. 688, 130 S.W.2d 116 (1939), wherein the court upheld the constitutionality of this act.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/private-acts-1939-chapter-281