

April 02, 2025

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Meigs County.

- 1. Acts of 1837, Chapter 79, authorized the county courts of Monroe, M'Minn and Meigs, to elect county surveyors.
- Acts of 1866-67, Chapter 76, Section 3, changed the boundary lines with Bradley County so as to include the farm now known as the W. Beard and S. Beard farm, formerly Alexander Roger's farm located in the 9th Civil District of Bradley County and the 1st Civil District of Meigs County wholly within Bradley County.
- 3. Acts of 1872, Chapter 19, Section 3, moved all the tracts of land belonging to Elijah McPherson and David Webb from Monroe County into Meigs County.
- 4. Acts of 1885, Chapter 102, changed the lines between Meigs and James Counties so as to include all of James Hoyal's farm on the Tennessee River in Meigs County.
- 5. Acts of 1887, Chapter 202, transferred all the lands of ____Carroll (sic) and Nelsey Stanton from McMinn county into the 6th Civil District of Meigs County.
- 6. Acts of 1891, Chapter 33, detached all the properties belonging to Jasper Redmond, Theodoric Grant, and S. B. Keylon, all of which were located in the northeast corner of McMinn County into the confines of Meigs County.
- 7. Acts of 1891, Chapter 244, moved the residence and farm of J. J. Winton from Roane County into Meigs County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-65