

August 24, 2024

County Seat

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

County Seat	
Private Acts of 1824 Chapter 132	3
Name Changed	3
Private Acts of 1825 Chapter 146	3

County Seat

Private Acts of 1824 Chapter 132

SECTION 1. That the commissioners in Haywood heretofore appointed to fix on a suitable site for the seat of justice in Haywood county, be, and the same commissioners hereby are, vested with full power and authority to determine on the size of the public square in said town, and the width of the streets of said town, any law heretofore passed to the contrary notwithstanding.

SECTION 2. That said town, when established, in pursuance of the acts of assembly heretofore passed, shall be called and known by the name of Brownsville, in honor of Major-General Jacob Brown, of the army of the United States.

SECTION 3. That the commissioners, when appointed by the county courts of Gibson, Dyer, Hardeman, Tipton, Fayette, Weakley, Obion, and McNairy counties, to lay off and sell the lots in the seats of justice for counties, shall have, exercise and posses, respectively, all the powers extended by this act to the commissioners appointed to fix the seat of justice for Haywood county.

SECTION 4. That the seat of justice for the county of Gibson shall be called by the name of Gibsonport; the seat of justice for the county of Dyer shall be called by the name of Dyersburgh; the seat of justice for the county of Weakley shall be called by the name of Dresden; the seat of justice for the county of Obion shall be called by the name of Troy; the seat of justice for the county of Hardeman shall be called by the name of Hatchee; the seat of justice for the county of McNairy shall be called by the name of Purdy; the seat of justice for the county of Fayette shall be called by the name of Sommerville, in honor and to perpetuate the memory of Robert M. Sommerville, who fell at the battle of the Horseshoe; the seat of justice for the county of Tipton shall be called by the name of Covington.

SECTION 5. That if it should so happen, that the commissioners appointed to fix on sites for the permanent seats of justice in the Western district, cannot complete their business within the time prescribed by law, it shall be lawful for the commissioners to have the further time of one month to complete the same.

Passed: October 16, 1824.

Name Changed

Private Acts of 1825 Chapter 146

SECTION 1. That the name of the town of Gibsonport, in the county of Gibson be, and the same is, hereby changed, and the said town shall hereafter be known and called by the name of TRENTON.

Passed: November 2, 1825.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/county-seat-4