

April 01, 2025

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Montgomery County.

- 1. Acts of 1843-44, Chapter 193, directed the county surveyors of Montgomery and Dickson Counties to complete the unfinished boundary line between the two Counties and to make a map showing the true line between the said Counties which would be filed with the County Court Clerk of each County. Each surveyor would receive \$3.00 per day salary.
- 2. Private Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 100, changed the county line between Montgomery and Dickson Counties so as to include in Dickson County the lands of Joseph Weems, and changed the line between Montgomery and Cheatham Counties so as to include in Montgomery County all the lands of E. L. Williams, B. B. Persons, H. C. Pall, W. G. Pickering, and W. B. Stewart.
- 3. Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 82, re-established the old line between Montgomery and Cheatham Counties beginning at Elliott's corner and running southwest to the Cumberland River.
- 4. Public Acts of 1868-69, Chapter 21, repealed Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 82.
- 5. Public Acts of 1869-70, Chapter 32, established a new county line and transferred all the lands of E. L. Fort, Robert Long, H. G. Long, Harding Durham, A. M. Jones, C. M. Warfield, S. F. Mitchell, John Sadler, and J. E. Hill from Montgomery County to Robertson County.
- 6. Public Acts of 1877, Chapter 61, changed the boundary between Montgomery and Cheatham Counties so as to include in Cheatham County the property of John M. Duke.
- Public Acts of 1883, Chapter 53, altered the boundary between Montgomery County and Cheatham County so as to include in Cheatham County all the lands of Wiley B. Stewart.
- 8. Public Acts of 1887, Chapter 50, changed the boundary between Montgomery and Dickson Counties so as to include in Dickson County the house and land of G. W. Daniel.
- Private Acts of 1897, Chapter 199, changed the county line between Montgomery County and Dickson County so as to include in Dickson County all the lands of Henderson Proctor and E. T. Williams.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-62