

November 22, 2024

Acts of 1803 Chapter 66

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Acts of 1803 Chapter 66

COMPILER'S NOTE: Sections 2, 3, 6 and 7 of this act do not relate to the boundaries of Montgomery County and are not reprinted here.

SECTION 1. That a new county by the name of Dickson be and hereby is erected and established out of that part of the counties of Robertson and Montgomery, comprehended within the bounds following, to wit: Beginning on the south bank of Cumberland river, where the line which separates the counties of Robertson and Davidson intersects the same, running thence down said river to a point, half a mile below Fayetteville; thence southwestwardly by a line which shall intersect Barton's creek, one half mile north of the forge; thence due west to a stake or point, one mile east of the east boundary line of Stewart county; thence south to the southern boundary of this state; thence east with said southern boundary to the southwest corner of Williamson county, as established by an act of the last session of the general assembly, entitled "An act to extend the jurisdiction, and to ascertain the bounds of the counties therein mentioned; thence north with the west boundary lines of the counties of Williamson and Davidson to the beginning.

SECTION 4. That the sheriffs of Robertson and Montgomery counties shall have power to collect the taxes for the present year, and all arrearages of taxes for any preceding year, due from any of the inhabitants within the present limits of either of their respective counties that may be included within the county hereby established; and that the inhabitants of said established county, now citizens of Robertson county shall be liable for the payment of their proportion of any debts now due by said county of Robertson.

SECTION 5. That James Elder be and is hereby appointed surveyor to run and mark the line between the counties of Montgomery and Dickson, who shall be allowed the sum of two and a half dollars for each and every day he may necessarily be employed therein, to be paid by the county of Dickson; and he shall employ chain carriers and a marker to assist him in running and marking said line; who shall be allowed the sum of one dollar each to be paid as above.

Passed: October 25, 1803.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/acts-1803-chapter-66-1