

Boundaries - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Boundaries - Historical Notes

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Moore County.

- 1. Acts of 1899, Chapter 413, changed the boundary between Moore and Bedford Counties by placing the lands of J. N. Sullivan in Bedford.
- 2. Acts of 1903, Chapter 374, placed the lands of Mrs. Louise Bean in Moore County, out of Franklin.
- 3. Acts of 1905, Chapter 91, was a boundary change between Moore and Lincoln Counties, placing the lands of J. L. Foster in Moore.
- 4. Acts of 1905, Chapter 136, changed the line between Lincoln and Moore Counties, by placing "what is known as the Dave Wagster Place on Chestnut Ridge", which had been purchased by Joe Stevenson in Lincoln County.
- 5. Acts of 1905, Chapters 191 and 390, placed the lands of A. J. Womack in Moore County, out of Franklin County.
- 6. Acts of 1905, Chapters 206 and 385, changed the boundary between Moore and Franklin Counties by placing the lands of N. A. Majors in Moore.
- 7. Acts of 1907, Chapters 326, altered the boundary of Bedford and Moore Counties by placing the lands of J. L. Erwin in Moore County.
- 8. Acts of 1909, Chapter 208, changed the line between Moore and Franklin Counties by placing the lands of Thomas Millsaps in Moore County.
- 9. Acts of 1909, Chapter 481, placed the lands of E. H. Allen in Moore County, out of Bedford County.
- 10. Private Acts of 1913, Chapter 218, placed the lands of E. H. Davis in the First Civil District of Moore County, out of Lincoln County.
- 11. Private Acts of 1915, Chapter 443, altered the line between Moore and Franklin Counties by placing the lands of M. A. Bean in the third district of Moore County.
- 12. Private Acts of 1917, Chapter 59, placed the lands of Spoon Motlow in the first district of Moore County, out of Lincoln County.
- 13. Private Acts of 1917, Chapter 244, changed the boundary between Moore and Franklin Counties, by placing the lands of G. E. Byron and the J. E. Coop Estate in the Second Civil District of Moore County, and the lands of M. A. Bean in the Third Civil District of Moore County.
- 14. Private Acts of 1927, Chapter 735, placed the J. J. Prosser farm in the Eighth Civil District of Moore County, out of Lincoln County.
- 15. Private Acts of 1939, Chapter 343, removed the house and lot of H. G. Hicks and wife from the Tenth Civil District of Lincoln County to Moore County.
- 16. Private Acts of 1941, Chapter 309, was a boundary change between Moore and Franklin Counties, placing the one hundred twenty-four acre tract of C. M. Cates in the Second Civil District of Moore County, out of the Fourteenth Civil District of Franklin County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-61