

April 02, 2025

## **Boundaries - Historical Notes**

## Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

## **Table of Contents**

## **Boundaries - Historical Notes**

The following is a summary of acts which authorized boundary changes for Morgan County.

- Acts of 1817, Chapter 81, appointed James Chism as surveyor to run the dividing line between Morgan and Overton counties.
- 2. Private Acts of 1820, Chapter 48, authorized an election to be held in Morgan County to determine the location of the county seat and provided for the establishment of a new courthouse. This act was amended by Private Acts of 1822, Chapter 174, so as to appoint commissioners to superintend the building of the courthouse.
- 3. Private Acts of 1824, Chapter 116, revised Private Acts of 1820, Chapter 48 so as to authorize an election to determine the location of the county seat.
- 4. Acts of 1845-46, Chapter 206, Section 17, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Roane counties so as to placed the house of Henry King in Roane County.
- 5. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 161, Section 7, changed the boundary line between Morgan, Anderson and Roane counties so as to place the farms of Moses C. Winters and L. Rutor in Roane County.
- 6. Acts of 1855-56, Chapter 156, Section 3, permanently established the dividing line between the counties of Morgan, Scott and Fentress as marked by Riley Long.
- 7. Private Acts of 1857-58, Chapter 129, changed the boundary line between Morgan, Roane and Anderson counties between Pine Ridge and the Poplar Creek. This act was subsequently repealed by Public Acts of 1869-70, Second Session, Chapter 88, and the lines were reinstated as they were before the enactment of Private Acts of 1857-58, Chapter 129.
- 8. Private Acts of 1859-60, Chapter 135, Section 3, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Scott counties so as to place the farm of A. H. Cross in Morgan County.
- 9. Private Acts of 1865-66, Chapter 76, Section 3, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Scott counties so as to place the farm of A.H. Cross back in Scott County.
- 10. Public Acts of 1868-69, Chapter 43, Section 6, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Scott counties so as to include the residence and lands of Dempsey Massengale in Scott County. Section 6 of Public Acts of 1868-69, Chapter 43, was repealed by Public Acts of 1885, Chapter 60 and the lines between Morgan and Scott were reestablished as if Chapter 43 was never enacted.
- 11. Public Acts of 1869-70, First Session, Chapter 88, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Scott counties so as to place the farms of Samuel Young within Morgan County.
- 12. Public Acts of 1889, Chapter 21, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Scott counties so as to place the farms of Solomon Young and John B. Young in Scott County.
- 13. Public Acts of 1889, Chapter 115, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Cumberland counties so as to place the farms of Solomon Norris, Thomas Norris and Daniel Hall in Morgan County.
- 14. Public Acts of 1899, Chapter 330, changed the boundary line between Morgan and Roane counties from the junction of Clifty Creek to the extreme top of Walden's Ridge at the boundary line of Morgan and Roane counties. This act was subsequently repealed by Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 93.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/boundaries-historical-notes-60